Boston Marathon Releases Amazing Women's Elite Field

Posted by: Watch Athletics

Last night, the 2023 Boston Marathon organizers released a fantastic women's elite runner's field. The list includes global championships medalists, Olympians, and five Boston Marathon champions.

This year's women's elite field is the deepest in history in terms of quality, as there are 16 women with a marathon personal best under 2 hours, 21 minutes, and nine of them hold PBs inside the magical mark of 2 hours and 20 minutes.

"Each year the B.A.A. welcomes strong, competitive, and talented fields to Hopkinton, with athletes ready to race for 26.2 miles," said Mary Kate Shea, B.A.A. Director of Professional Athletes & Technical Support. "This year's field is among the fastest and most decorated professional fields in history, and we anticipate an exciting race from start to finish on Patriots' Day."

The women's race is led by Ethiopia's Amane Beriso, who won the Valencia Marathon last December with a sensational personal best of 2:14:58. Israel's Lonah Salpeter and Kenya's Sharon Lokedi also had remarkable breakthrough performances in 2022. Salpeter claimed a bronze medal at the World Athletics Championships in Eugene, won the European marathon gold in Berlin, and took second at New York City Marathon. Lokedi produced the most significant victory in her career when winning the New York City last November.

The 2023 Boston Marathon will take place on Patriots' Day on Monday, April 17.

Boston Marathon 2023 Women's Elite Field:

Amane BerisoEthiopia2:14:58 (NR)
Sheila ChepkiruiKenya2:17:29
Joyciline JepkosgeiKenya2:17:43
Lonah SalpeterIsrael2:17:45
Angela TanuiKenya2:17:57
Fancy ChemutaiKenya2:18:11
Gotytom GebreslaseEthiopia2:18:11
Hiwot GebremaryamEthiopia2:19:10
Edna Kiplagat^*Kenya2:19:50
Celestine ChepchirchirKenya2:20:10
Maurine ChepkemoiKenya2:20:18
Mary NgugiKenya2:20:22
Nazret Weldu GebrehiwetEritrea2:20:29 (NR)
Sara Hall*USA2:20:32
Ababel YeshanehEthiopia2:20:51
Vibian ChepkiruiKenya2:20:59
Atsede Baysa^Ethiopia2:22:03
Desiree Linden^USA2:22:38
Viola CheptooKenya2:22:44
Nienke BrinkmanNetherlands2:22:51 (NR)
Emma BatesUSA2:23:18
Sharon LokediKenya2:23:23
Dakotah LindwurmUSA2:25:01
Jessica StensonAustralia2:25:15
Laura ThweattUSA2:25:38
Nell RojasUSA2:25:57
Annie FrisbieUSA2:26:18
Sara VaughnUSA2:26:23
Haruka YamaguchiJapan2:26:35
Aliphine TuliamukUSA2:26:50
Maggie MontoyaUSA2:28:07
Hanna Lindholm*Sweden2:28:59
Maegan KrifchinUSA2:29:12
Militsa MirchevaBulgaria2:29:23 (NR)
Jane BareikisUSA2:30:04
Sydney DevoreUSA2:31:07
Annmarie TuxburyUSA2:31:31
Kaitlin GoodmanUSA2:32:08
Kodi KlevenUSA2:32:45
Jess WatychowiczUSA2:33:09
Briana Boehmer*USA2:33:20
Nina ZarinaRussia2:33:22
Jesse CardinUSA2:33:34
Savannah BerryUSA2:33:42
Olivia PrattUSA2:34:22
Anne-Marie BlaneyUSA2:34:38
Mckale MontgomeryUSA2:35:01
Liza HowardCanada2:35:29
Esther AtkinsUSA2:36:32
Sylvia BedfordUSA2:36:32
English Jackson TomlinsonUSA2:36:51
Aisling CuffeUSA2:37:23
Rachel CooganUSA2:37:40
Claire McCarthy*Ireland2:38:26
Ann CentnerUSA2:38:30
Tennille EllisAustralia2:39:08
April Lund*USA2:39:23
Carmen Hussar*Canada2:39:51
Gina Rouse*USA2:41:19
Natasha Bliss*USA2:43:28
Julie Lajeunesse*Canada2:44:49
Laurie Knowles*USA2:44:53
Jennifer Hughes*USA2:45:19
Jenny Hitchings*USA2:45:32
Hilary Corno*USA2:45:34
Rebecca Brown*Australia2:45:43
Erika KempUSADebut
Danielle MorenoUSADebut
Maria CoffinUSADebut

^ - Boston Marathon Champion
* - Masters (40+) athlete

Latest News
©2024 WATCHATHLETICS.COM. All rights reserved.