Seoul Marathon 2024: Guye Adola and Desi Mokonin Lead Strong Elite Fields

Posted by: Watch Athletics

Guye Adola from Ethiopia and Desi Mokonin of Bahrain lead this year's Seoul Marathon elite fields, a highlight as the sixth World Athletics Platinum Label road race happening on Sunday, March 17. Adola will experience the Seoul Marathon for the first time, while Mokonin is no stranger to this race, having clinched victory here in 2019.

Adola is recognized for his impressive personal best (PB) of 2:03:46, secured during his marathon debut in Berlin in 2017 where he finished second. This performance, coupled with a victory in Berlin in 2021 with a time of 2:05:45, establishes him as a formidable competitor. His last marathon appearance was in Frankfurt in October, where he finished third.

The event in Seoul is expected to be highly competitive, with six additional athletes in the men's category who have completed marathons in under 2:06. The current course record is 2:04:43, set by Mosinet Geremew in 2022.

Among the contenders is Kenya's Philimon Kiptoo Kipchumba, who has triumphed in all four marathons he has run, including his most recent victory at the Shanghai Marathon. His compatriots Solomon Kirwa Yego and Joel Kemboi Kimurer, alongside Ethiopia’s Derseh Kindie and others, are also looking to make an impact.

On the women's side, Ethiopia's Yebrgual Melese leads with the fastest PB of 2:19:36. She, along with Mokonin and other elite runners like Kenya’s Celestine Chepchirchir and Janet Ruguru, are aiming for top finishes. The women's race is equally competitive, featuring athletes who have shown remarkable performances in recent years.

The Seoul Marathon thus promises to be an event where seasoned athletes and promising newcomers alike vie for supremacy, with personal and national pride at stake, all while chasing the possibility of Olympic qualification.

Men Elite

Guye Adola (ETH) 2:03:46
Joel Kemboi Kimurer (KEN) 2:05:19
Philimon Kiptoo Kipchumba (KEN) 2:05:35
Laban Kipngetich Korir (KEN) 2:05:41
Solomon Kirwa Yego (KEN) 2:05:42
Derseh Kindie (ETH) 2:05:51
Gebru Redahgne (ETH) 2:05:58
Mark Kiptoo (KEN) 2:06:00
Felix Kandie (KEN) 2:06:03
Mike Kiptum Boit (KEN) 2:06:08
Ashenafi Moges Weldegiorgis (ETH) 2:06:12
Edwin Kiptoo (KEN) 2:06:52
Kibrom Desta Habtu (ETH) 2:07:05
Balew Yihunie Derseh (ETH) 2:07:12
Timothy Kipkorir (KEN) 2:07:53
Rory Linkletter (CAN) 2:08:01
Feng Peiyou (CHN) 2:08:07
Rhonzas Lokitam Kilimo (KEN) 2:08:08
Olonbayar Jamsran (MGL) 2:08:58
Huang Yongzheng (CHN) 2:10:49
Gantulga Dambadarjaa (MGL) 2:11:18
Jemal Yimer (ETH) 2:11:31


Yebrgual Melese (ETH) 2:19:36
Celestine Chepchirchir (KEN) 2:20:10
Desi Mokonin (BRN) 2:20:47
Sisay Meseret Gola (ETH) 2:20:50
Visiline Jepkesho (KEN) 2:21:37
Fikrte Wereta (ETH) 2:22:07
Sintayehu Tilahun (ETH) 2:22:19
Janet Ruguru (KEN) 2:23:00
Margaret Agai (KEN) 2:23:28
Sifan Melaku (ETH) 2:23:49
Munkhzaya Bayartsogt (MGL) 2:28:03
Marina Khmelevskaya (UZB) 2:29:28
Ayano Ikeuchi (JPN) 2:33:29

Latest News
©2024 WATCHATHLETICS.COM. All rights reserved.