Tesfaye and Langat clinch dramatic AJC Peachtree Road Race titles

Posted by: Watch Athletics

Defending champion Senbere Teferi of Ethiopia was looking at her watch and calculating her time as she neared the finish line at full speed of the AJC Peachtree Road Race 10-K in Atlanta this morning. Her compatriot Fotyen Tesfay and Kenya's Jesca Chelangat followed closely behind as she raced toward the finish line. 

Besides a $10,000 prize, the winner also receives a $5,000 bonus for breaking Brigid Kosgei's course record of 30:22.

Due to a moment of confusion, the 28-year-old athlete was unable to complete her planned sprint to the finish line. Just meters from the finish line, she took a hard right turn following one of the motorcycle escorts. Meanwhile, 19-year-old Tesfaye won the race in 30:44 with Chelangat second in 30:46. With a quick turnaround, Teferi took third place in 30:47.

Watch the Women's Finish Video

Men's race:

A thrilling sprint finish capped the men's race as well. After the final turn onto 10th Street, defending champion Gabriel Geay of Tanzania had a few meters lead. After sprinting full-out for a couple of hundred meters, it became clear that the Tanzanian runner might have underestimated his power as his stride slowed down. In the meantime, three other athletes, Ethiopia's Nibret Melak, Kenya's Charles Langat, and Ethiopia's Jemal Yimer, made gains. At the end of the race Langat passed Geay on the left and held on to win in 27:43. At the same time, Melak almost overtook Geay, but the photo finish revealed that Melak came in third and Geay came in second.

For the first time in Peachtree Road Race history the top-3 men clocked the same time.


  1. Fotyen Haiylu Tesfay (ETH) – 30:43
  2. Jesca Chelangat (KEN) – 30:45
  3. Senbere Teferi (USA) – 30:47
  4. Dorcas Tuitoek (ITA) – 31:13
  5. Vicoty Chepngeno (KEN) – 31:23
  6. Stacy Ndiwa (KEN) – 31:36
  7. Cynthia Limo (KEN) – 31:42
  8. Tadu Teshome Nare (ETH) – 31:51
  9. Selam Selam Fente Gebre (ETH) – 31:52
  10. Sheila Chepkirui (KEN) – 31:57


  1. Charles Langat (KEN) – 27:42
  2. Gabriel Geay (TZA) – 27:43
  3. Nibret Melak (ETH) – 27:43
  4. Jemal Yimer (ETH) – 27:44
  5. Edwin Kurgat (KEN) – 27:49
  6. Tsegay Kidanu (ETH) – 27:50
  7. Tadese Gebresilase (ITA) – 27:55
  8. Philemon Kimaiyo (KEN) – 28:04
  9. Hillary Kipkoech (KEN) – 28:18
  10. Kiprono Sitonik (ITA) – 28:27


Latest News
©2024 WATCHATHLETICS.COM. All rights reserved.