• Highlights: Stockholm Diamond League (Buahaus-Galan)

Article source: Athletics

Canadian sprinter Andre De Grasse blazed to victory in the 100m clocking wind aided 9.69 seconds at the Stockholm Diamond League meeting on Sunday, June 18. 

Trippe Olympic bronze medalist De Grasse would have been celebrating a personal best if the strong +4.8m/s tail wind did not not exceeded the permitted limit of 2.0m/s.

It was also a third straight Diamond League victory for the 22-year-old De Grasse. 

"I am very happy to have won despite the wind. I feel that I'm improving year after year. But these are only preparations for the big show of the worlds."

"That's the fastest I've ever run, it's going to be a shock to the body. Tomorrow's going to hurt a little bit, but I’m just looking forward to the next race and see what I can do legally." said De Grasse.

Kenya’s Timothy Cheruiyot smashed the men's 1500m world lead with 3:30.77. Meanwhile defending world champion Asbel Kiprop set his season’s best of 3:33.17 to take 4th. Norway's 16-year-old Jakob Ingebrigtsen took more than two seconds off his 1500m personal best to set a European U18 best of 3:39.92.

Norway's Karsten Warholm took the men's 400m hurdles in  48.82sec. It was a second second consecutive Diamond League victory for the Norwegian hurdler. 

Bahamas Steven Gardiner impressed with 44.58sec for the win in the men's 400m. 

SA's Antonio Alkana and Britain's Andrew Pozzi were disqualified for false starting in the men's 110m hurdles. Spain's Orlando Ortega edged defending world champion Sergey Shubenkov for the win clocking 13.09sec (+3.3m/s) 

Manyonga led South African 1-2 victory in the men's long jump with wind assisted 8.36m (+3.3m/s) leap. Rushwal Samaai took second with 8.29m (+1.3m/s) jump. 

Jamaica's Fedrick Dacres celebrated victory in the men's discus with 68.36m throw.

Murielle Ahoure (CIV) took the women's 22.68 beating Canada's  Crystal Emmanuel by only 0.01sec.  

In the women's discus, Yaime Perez of Cuba threw 67.92m to beat world and Olympic champion Sandra Perkovic of Croatia (67.75m). 

Francine Niyonsaba clocked 1:59.11 for the win in the women's 800m. 

Latest Videos
» Live Stream Athletics
Friday, Feb 22nd at 14:00 (UTC)
Friday, Feb 22nd at 15:00 (UTC)
Friday, Feb 22nd at 17:00 (UTC)
Friday, Feb 22nd at 19:00 (UTC)
Friday, Feb 22nd at 20:30 (UTC)
Saturday, Feb 23rd at 06:15 (UTC)
Saturday, Feb 23rd at 12:00 (UTC)
» Flash News
• Montana State University Receives Anonymous $1 Million Gift in Honor of Retired Coach Dale Kennedy

Montana State University and the Bobcats Athletic department announced a $1 million gift in support of the MSU track and field program in honor of former head coach Dale Kennedy this past Saturday. The anonymous gift was made public at the celebration for the career of the well regarded Kennedy which was hosted by the Montana State Bobcat Club on MSU’s campus over the weekend.

February 20, 2019 See More on: USTFCCCA.ORG


Nine of this season's 11 IAAF World Indoor Tour titles will be up for grabs when the six-meeting series concludes with the PSD Bank Meeting in Dusseldorf on Wednesday (20) night, but none will be as eagerly anticipated and as closely watched as the battle for the men's 1500m when Samuel Tefera returns to the track just four days after his sensational world record-breaking run in Birmingham.

February 19, 2019 See More on: IAAF.ORG

• Caster Semenya: South African runner's appeal against IAAF rule begins

Olympic 800m champion Caster Semenya's appeal against a regulation restricting testosterone levels in female runners began on Monday - as the head of world athletics again defended the rule. South African Semenya, 28, is seeking to overturn the regulation at the Court of Arbitration for Sport (Cas). The case will be heard until Friday, with a verdict expected by 29 March.


February 19, 2019 See More on: BBC Sports

• Selection chaos sees British Athletics forced to pick incomplete sprint team for European Indoor Championships

Richard Kilty, the double reigning European 60m champion, has hit out at not being given the chance to attempt a historic hat-trick in Glasgow after British Athletics were forced into humiliatingly selecting just one male sprinter despite having three spots to fill. 


February 17, 2019 See More on: The Telegraph

Past Headlines Latest Results Upcoming Events
Watch Athletics
©2019 WATCHATHLETICS.COM. All rights reserved.