• Tola Takes Surprise Win at Dubai Marathon

Article source: Athletics

Ethiopia's Tamirat Tola took a surprise win in Dubai Marathon as the pre race favorite Kenenisa Bekele fell at the start and late failed to finish.

Tola, the Olympic 10000m Champion, won Dubai Marathon title on Friday in a new course record of 2:04.11.

The race started with suicidal pace as the lead pack together with Bekele went through the first 5km in 14:20; a pace of 2:00:58 for the 42.195km. 

The next 5km peacemakers covered in 14:37 crossing the 10km marker in a grueling pace of 28:57. The world record holder in 5000m and 10000m, Bekele, crossed the 10KM in 29:03 which was still 20 seconds faster than Dennis Kimetto world record pace.

Bekele realizing that the pace was way too fast started to slow down a bit as he went through the 14km marker about 20 seconds behind the lead pack. 

While Race leaders with Tola went through the half marathon in 61:35 Bekele's world record attempt ended during the 22nd kilometer as he pulled up and dropped out of the race. 

From 21 to 25km Kenya's Kipruto was pushing the pace very hard leading Ethiopia's Lemma and Tola through the 25km in 1:12:54, a world record pace.  

Kipruto went through the 30km in 1:27:39 before dropping out, while Tamirat Tola, the 10000m Olympic bronze medalist, was left alone in the lead on a world record pace. 

In the following 5km Tola slipped away from Dennis Kimetto world record pace as he went through the 35km in 1:42:36, well outside the world record. 

In the final 4 kilometers Tola's pace significantly dropped as he crossed the finish-line in 2:04.11, a new Dubai Marathon Coarse record and the ninth fastest time in marathon history.

Tola, who nearly dropped 2 minutes off from his personal best time will walk away with $200.000USD prize.

Top Results Men

1 Tola Adere, Tamirat (ETH) +00:00 02:04:11

2 Wasihun Lakew, Mule (ETH) +02:36 02:06:46

3 Lemma Kasaye, Sisay (ETH) +03:54 02:08:04

4 Jigsa, Sisay (ETH) MH +03:58 02:08:09

5 Lokwanamoi, Mark Pkorir (KEN) +04:27 02:08:37

6 Ayenew, Mekuant (ETH) MH +05:13 02:09:23

7 Bekele Molalign, Azmeraw (ETH) +06:12 02:10:22

8 Dechasa Beyene, Chele (ETH) +06:13 02:10:24

9 Getachew Yizengaw, Limenih (ETH) +07:05 02:11:16

10 Mekonnen Asefa, Tsegaye (ETH) +07:44 02:11:54


Latest Videos
» New Balance Indoor Grand Prix - Live Stream
26 January 2019 at 20:00 (UTC)
» ISTAF Indoor 2019 (Berlin, GER) - Live Stream
01 February 2019 at 17:00 (UTC)
» Indoor Meeting - Karlsruhe - Live Stream
02 February 2019 at 18:00 (UTC)
» Orlen Copernicus Cup - Live Stream
06 February 2019 at 00:00 (UTC)
» Madrid Indoor Meeting - Live Stream
08 February 2019 at 18:00 (UTC)
Past Headlines Latest Results Upcoming Events
09 Dec Zurich Maratón de Malaga 2018
09 Dec European Cross Country Championships,
09 Dec Standard Chartered Singapore Marathon
08 Dec Foot Locker National Championships 2018
07 Dec Abu Dhabi Marathon 2018
02 Dec California International Marathon 2018
02 Dec Valencia Marathon 2018
02 Dec 10K Valencia Trinidad Alfonso
02 Dec Fukuoka International Marathon 2018
01 Dec Nike Cross Nationals (NXN) 2018
25 Nov Milano21 Half Marathon 2018
25 Nov Wanderloop Tilburg 2018
25 Nov Asics Firenze Marathon, Florence (ITA)
16 Dec Bangsaen21 Half Marathon
16 Dec Mersin Marathon (TUR)
16 Dec Tata Steel Kolkata 25K
16 Dec Shenzhen Marathon (CHI)
30 Dec Corrida Internationale de Houilles (FRA)
06 Jan 62° Campaccio-International Cross
13 Jan Cross Internacional Juan Muguerza,
19 Jan Northern Ireland International Cross
20 Jan Cross Internacional de Italica, Sevilla
26 Jan New Balance Indoor Grand Prix
27 Jan 87th Cinque Mulini, San Vittore Olona
01 Feb ISTAF Indoor 2019 (Berlin, GER)
02 Feb Indoor Meeting - Karlsruhe
02 Dec Results: Fukuoka International Marathon ...
02 Dec Results: Valencia Marathon 2018 ...
02 Dec Dido and Gebreselassie Smash Records in ...
30 Nov Road and Cross Country Action This Weekend ...
25 Nov Results: Asics Firenze Marathon 2018 ...
25 Nov Salpeter Smashes Firenze Marathon Course ...
18 Nov Ethiopians Tura and Melese Prevail in ...
17 Nov Results: NCAA D1 Cross Country ...
16 Nov Top road and cross country action this ...
13 Nov Best VPN to Watch Live Sports Free ...
12 Nov Bright Future beckons for resurgent Athens ...
11 Nov Kenyans Misoi and Muriuki win Athens ...
11 Nov Results: 2018 Athens Marathon The ...
Watch Athletics
©2018 WATCHATHLETICS.COM. All rights reserved.