Ahoure sets new African 100m record of 10.78 seconds

Posted by: Watch Athletics


A new African 100m record of 10.78 seconds produced Ivory Coast sprinter Murielle Ahoure at  the Star Athletics Pro Meet in Montverde, Florida.

On almost perfect Saturday night, Ahoure beat into second place Jamaican superstar Veronica Campbell-Brown (10.83)  to set the fastest time in the world this year.  

In the preliminary rounds Ahoure had already clocked sizzling 10.80 seconds  (Wind 2.1m/s).

The 28-year-old Ahoure broke the previous African record set by Blessing Okagbare in 2013 by 0.01 seconds.  

American 17-year-old sprint sensation Candace hill took fifth place in the 100m final with a time of 11.19 seconds. She later returned to track win the 200m with a time of 22.38 seconds.

Women's 100m Final | see full meet results here.

Results Wind: 1.6                         
  1 Ahoure`, Murielle            Star Athletics/Nike      10.78                
2 Campbell-Brown, Veronica 34 Modern Sprints 10.83
3 Atkins, Joanna 27 Life Speed 11.09
4 Whitney, Kaylin Star Athletics/Nike 11.17
5 Hill, Candace 17 Asics 11.19
6 White, Shelby 27 Hsinternational 11.21
7 Love, Alexis Star Athletics/Nike 11.33 11.330
Latest News
©2023 WATCHATHLETICS.COM. All rights reserved.