• Brazier shocks with 1:43.53 to win NCAA Championships 800m

Posted by: Watch Athletics

Donavan Brazier highlighted the second day of the NCAA D1 track and field championships in Eugene, Oregon.

A Freshman from Texas A&M University, Brazier, destroyed the men's 800m field clocking a sensational 1:43.55 to win the NCAA title. 

Brazier broke the NCAA championships meet record by Mark Everett of 1:44.70 and almost broke Jim Ryan's collegiate record of 1:43.3.  The 19-year-old's time is also the third fastest in the world this season.

The second place in the men's 800m final took Senior of Miss State  Brandon McBride in 1:44.50, Meanwhile Shaquille Walker of BYU finished in third in 1:45.17.

Watch video here>>

Place Athlete Affiliation Time
1 Donavan Brazier FR Texas A&M 1:43.55
2 Brandon McBride SR Miss State 1:44.50
3 Shaquille Walker JR BYU 1:45.17
4 Isaiah Harris FR Penn State 1:45.76
5 Sampson Laari JR Mid. Tenn. State 1:47.15
6 Chris Sanders JR La Salle 1:47.50
7 Eliud Rutto JR Mid. Tenn. State 1:48.54
8 Robert Heppenstall FR Wake Forest 1:51.14
©2022 WATCHATHLETICS.COM. All rights reserved.