• Kenenisa Bekele and Tirunesh Dibaba Win Great Manchester Run

Article source: Athletics

Ethiopian superstars Kenenisa Bekele and Tirunesh Dibaba were crowned champions at the 2016 Morrison Great Manchester Run on Sunday, May 22.

The 3-time Olympic champion Bekele broke the tape after 28:07 seconds beating Kenya's great Wilson Kipsang, who crossed the line in 28:15. Great Britain's David McNail took a surprise third in 28:15.  Bekele returned to Great Manchester run since 2014 season when he clocked 28:23 for the win.

In the women's race Bekele's compatriot Tirunesh Dibaba took the Great Manchester Run title with clocking the 3rd fastest 10KM this year of 31:16 seconds. Runner up Kenya's Edna Kiplagat clocked 31:25, meanwhile Diane Nukuri of Burundi completed the podium in 31:49. 

Latest Videos
» Live Stream Athletics
Saturday, May 25th at 08:50 (UTC)
Saturday, May 25th at 14:40 (UTC)
Saturday, May 25th at 14:50 (UTC)
Saturday, May 25th at 22:00 (UTC)
» Flash News
Past Headlines Latest Results Upcoming Events
Watch Athletics
©2019 WATCHATHLETICS.COM. All rights reserved.