Three World Leads Set in Los Angeles: Rai Benjamin, Solomon Barega, and Halimah Nakaayi Shine

Posted by: Watch Athletics

At the Los Angeles Grand Prix held at UCLA’s Drake Stadium, three world-leading performances were recorded. Raj Benjamin set a new world seasonal lead in the men’s 400 metres hurdles, Selemon Barega in the men’s 5000 metres, and Halimah Nakaayi in the women’s 800 metres.

Men’s 400 Metres Hurdles

Olympic silver medallist Raj Benjamin won the men’s 400 metres hurdles in 46.64 seconds, surpassing Alison Dos Santos’ previous world lead of 46.86 set in Doha. Benjamin’s time is the ninth fastest in history and the quickest ever recorded this early in the year.

Raj Benjamin: “I am not trying to think too much on it, because the Olympics are not today.”

Roshawn Clarke of Jamaica finished second in 48.11, followed by world silver medallist Kyron McMaster in 48.51.

Men’s 5000 Metres

Ethiopia’s Olympic 10,000 metres champion Selemon Barega won the men’s 5000 metres, setting a world lead of 12:51.60. Eleven athletes broke the 13-minute barrier, including Berihu Aregawi (12:52.08), Joshua Cheptegei (12:52.38), and Jacob Kiplimo (12:52.91). Grant Fisher finished fifth in 12:53.30.

Selemon Barega: “I am targeting the 10,000m at the Olympic Games in Paris, but I hope to double with the 5000m if the Ethiopian Federation allows.”

Joshua Cheptegei: “The plan for the Olympics is not to win both the 10,000m and the 5000m, but to win the 10,000m. If I win the 10,000m, I don’t care about the 5000m.”

Women’s 800 Metres

Uganda’s world champion Halimah Nakaayi narrowly won the women’s 800 metres in a national record and world lead of 1:57.56, edging out Tsige Tuguma by 0.006 seconds in a photo finish. Sage Hurta Klecker was third in 1:58.98.

Women’s 200 Metres

Olympic 400 metres hurdles champion Sydney McLaughlin-Levrone won the women’s 200 metres, improving her personal best to 22.07 seconds, the second fastest time in the world this year. Abby Steiner was second in 22.32, followed by Brittany Brown in 22.35.

Sydney McLaughlin-Levrone: “I will not attempt a flat 400 metres-400 metres hurdles double at the Olympic Games. That’s definitely a possibility in the future, but just wanting to come back, after last season, just stick to one event and try to do it the best I can, be healthy, which we are, and I am very happy about.”

Men’s Shot Put

Two-time world champion Joe Kovacs won the men’s shot put with a throw of 22.93m, just 2 cm shy of Leonardo Fabbri’s world seasonal lead. Kovacs had four more throws over 22 metres.

Women’s 1500 Metres

World silver medallist Diribe Welteji won the women’s 1500 metres in 3:55.25, holding off Freweyni Hailu, who also broke the 3:56 barrier with 3:55.48. Susan Ejore and Beatrice Chepkoech set personal bests of 3:58.63 and 3:59.73, respectively.

Women’s 5000 Metres

World indoor 3000 metres champion Elle St. Pierre won the women’s 5000 metres in a personal best of 14:34.12, moving to fourth on the US all-time list. Joselyn Brea from Venezuela set a national record of 14:36.59 to finish second.

Women’s 100 Metres Hurdles

Tonea Marshall won the women’s 100 metres hurdles in 12.55, edging out Alaysha Johnson (12.57) and Cyrena Samba Mayela (12.63). Jasmine Camacho-Quinn was fourth in 12.66.

Women’s 400 Metres

World champion Marileidy Paulino won her third 400 metres race of the season in 50.27. Mary Moraa finished second with a seasonal best of 50.56, followed by Alexis Holmes in 50.73.

Men’s 400 Metres

Michael Norman won the men’s 400 metres in 44.53, confirming his good form. Kirani James was second in 44.85, followed by Veron Norwood in 44.86.

Michael Norman: “It’s not worth the risk to jump down in those shorter events, especially in a year like this, because if you don’t execute and you don’t perform the way you want to or the way people expected, things do not look good. It’s safer and less of a risk for me to be competing in the 400m, which I still enjoy just as much. This is the year for redemption.”

Men’s 100 Metres

Kyree King won the men’s 100 metres in 10.11, narrowly defeating world silver medallist Letsile Tebogo.

Men’s 800 Metres

World indoor champion Bryce Hoppel won the men’s 800 metres in a seasonal best of 1:43.68, ahead of Isaiah Jewett (1:44.02) and Jake Wightman (1:44.10).

Women’s 100 Metres

Melissa Jefferson won the women’s 100 metres in 11.27, edging out Morolake Akinosun by 0.01 seconds. Lanae Tava Thomas was third in 11.36.

Women’s Hammer Throw

Brooke Andersen, world champion in 2022, won the women’s hammer throw with a throw of 77.32m. DeAnna Price was second with 77.16m, followed by Camryn Rogers with 75.56m.

Men’s Hammer Throw

Mykhaylo Kokhan won the men’s hammer throw with 80.33m. Denzel Comenentia set a Dutch record of 79.09m to finish second.

Women’s 3000 Metres Steeplechase

Celli McCame won the women’s 3000 metres steeplechase in a national record of 9:20.58. Madison Boreman was second in 9:21.98.

Women’s Discus Throw

Olympic champion Valarie Allman won the women’s discus throw with a best of 67.93m. Yaimé Perez was second with 64.95m.

Men’s Discus Throw

Roger Stona won the men’s discus throw with a best of 66.93m, ahead of Claudio Romero (64.12m).

Women’s Pole Vault

Sandi Morris won the women’s pole vault with a clearance of 4.70m. Emily Grove was second with 4.48m.

Men’s Pole Vault

Ernest John Obiena won the men’s pole vault with a clearance of 5.80m, beating Simen Guttormsen who finished second with 5.70m.

Women’s 400 Metres Hurdles

Anna Cockrell won the women’s 400 metres hurdles in 53.75, beating Andrenette Knight (54.69) and Cassandra Tate (55.02).

Women’s Triple Jump

Thea LaFond won the women’s triple jump with a leap of 14.37m, edging out Shanieka Ricketts by 1 cm.

Men’s 1500 Metres

Oliver Hoare won the men’s 1500 metres in 3:34.73, narrowly beating Reynold Cheruyiot (3:34.83) and Matthew Centrowitz (3:35.16).

Men’s 3000 Metres Steeplechase

Jean Claude Despagnés of Canada won the men’s 3000 metres steeplechase in 8:16.49, with Matthew Wilkinson second in 8:16.59.

Latest News
©2024 WATCHATHLETICS.COM. All rights reserved.