Kenya's Kosgei and Ethiopia's Ayele Dominate at 33rd EDP Lisbon Half Marathon

Posted by: Watch Athletics

In Sunday's (March 17) 33rd edition of the EDP Lisbon Half Marathon, recognized as a World Athletics Elite Label road race, Brigid Kosgei of Kenya and Ethiopia's Dinkalem Ayele emerged victorious. Competing under warm and humid conditions, Kosgei achieved a time of 1:05:51 to secure the women's title, finishing over three minutes ahead of her nearest competitor, Bosena Mulatie from Ethiopia, who finished in 1:09:00. Ayele triumphed in the men's category with a time of 1:00:36, narrowly beating Kenya's Dominic Kiptarus, who clocked in at 1:00:40.

In preparation for the upcoming London Marathon, Kosgei validated her favored status by taking the lead shortly before the 10km mark and maintained a substantial lead to win comfortably. Mulatie claimed the second spot, followed by Tigist Menigstu of Ethiopia, who completed the women's podium with a time of 1:09:14.

"This was a preparation for London Marathon next month. I'm really happy, I appreciate what I have run today. Thanks to organizers, I appreciate what you have done." Brigid Kosgei said after the race.

Ayele was part of a leading group of five athletes that passed the 10km mark in 28:35. This group remained intact until the 20km mark, after which Ayele accelerated to clinch the victory by a margin of four seconds over Kiptarus and twenty seconds over Amanal Petros from Germany, the top European runner in today's race.

In addition to the elite competition, the event saw participation from over 13,000 runners completing the renowned half marathon that starts from the 25 de Abril Bridge, and nearly 10,000 participants in the 10K race, known as the Vodafone 10K.


PosNameNatGun timeChip time
1Brigid KosgeiKEN01:05:5101:05:49
2Bosena MulatieETH01:09:0001:08:58
3Tigist MenigstuETH01:09:1401:09:12
4Betty Chepkemoi KibetKEN01:09:3501:09:34
5Vivian MellyKEN01:09:4101:09:40
6Domenika MayerGER01:10:4001:10:38
7Edith JepchumbaKEN01:10:4501:10:44
8Faith ChepchirchirKEN01:11:2501:11:23
9Glorius JepkuruiKAZ01:11:3801:11:36
10Lilly PartridgeGBR01:12:0101:11:58


PosNameNATGun timeChip time
1Dinkalem AyeleETH01:00:3601:00:35
2Dominic Chemut KiptarusKEN01:00:4001:00:38
3Amanal PetrosGER01:00:5601:00:55
4Dennis Kibet KitiyoKEN01:00:5801:00:57
5Bravin Kipkogei KiptooKEN01:01:1001:01:08
6Thabang MosiakoRSA01:01:4201:01:40
7Sikiyas MisganawETH01:02:0301:02:01
8Timothy Kosgei KipchumbaKEN01:02:0701:02:06
9Edward Zakayo PinguaKEN01:02:2001:02:19
10Eyob Ghebrehiwet FanielITA01:02:2601:02:24
Latest News
©2024 WATCHATHLETICS.COM. All rights reserved.