• Rupp and Dibaba win Chicago Marathon Titles

Article source: Athletics

Galen Rupp became the first American man in 35 years to win the Chicago Marathon while Ethiopia's Tirunesh Dibaba, a three-time Olympic champion, took the women's crown on Sunday, October 8.

Rupp became the first American born winner in Chicago since Greg Meyer won in 1982. (Khalid Khannouchi won the Chicago marathon in 1999 for Morocco but in 2000 and 2002 he won for United States). 

The Rio Olympics silver medalis, Rupp, took the lead with three miles remaining ( clocking 4:30 for mile 24, 4:34 for mile 25 and 4:33 for mile 26) to win the race in 2hrs 9mins 20secs. Defending champion Abel Kirui of Kenya came in second 28 seconds back while his compatriot  Bernard Kipyego took third in 2:10:23.

"I really wanted to wait," Rupp said. "I felt a little gap pulling away and then I said I've just got to put down the hammer and pull away.

"I just tried to relax and when I make the move be decisive. It feels tremendous. I feel so great I was able to pull it out."

Tirunesh Dibaba, a former world and Olympic 5,000 and 10,000m champion clocked an impressive personal best of 2:18:31 to win the women's race in her third marathon race in her career. 

"This is my third marathon and I'm very happy to have won here," Dibaba said. "I worked very hard for this."

Kenya's Brigid Kosgei crossed the line in second in 2:20:22 with American Jordan Hasay third in 2:20:57.

Men's Top Results

1» Rupp, Galen (USA) 02:09:20

2» Kirui, Abel (KEN) 02:09:48

3» Kipyego, Bernard (KEN) 02:10:23

4» Lemma, Sisay (ETH) 02:11:01

5» Sambu, Stephen (KEN) 02:11:07

6» Matsumura , Kohei (JPN) 02:11:46

7» Chebii, Ezekiel (KEN) 02:12:12

8» Tadese, Zersenay (ERI) 02:12:19

9» Derrick, Chris (USA) 02:12:50

10» Shelley, Michael (AUS) 02:12:52


Women's Top Results

1» Dibaba, Tirunesh (ETH) 02:18:31

2» Kosgei, Brigid (KEN) 02:20:22

3» Hasay, Jordan (USA) 02:20:57

4» Perez, Madai (MEX)02:24:44

5» Kipketer, Valentine (KEN) 02:28:05

6» Weightman, Lisa (AUS) 02:28:45

7» Krifchin, Maegan (USA) 02:33:46

8» Gray, Alia (USA) 02:34:25

9» Ward, Taylor (USA) 02:35:27

10» Wade, Becky (USA) 02:35:46

More Results here

Latest Videos
» Live Stream Athletics
Sunday, Feb 17th at 00:00 (UTC)
Sunday, Feb 17th at 07:30 (UTC)
Sunday, Feb 17th at 10:00 (UTC)
» Flash News
• Fast European Sprinting at national championships

Several European women sprinters achieved fast times in different parts of Europe on Saturday. Mujinga Kambundji equaled  World lead to win Suiss indoor title in 7.08. Ewa Swoboda took the Polish 60m crown in 7.15. Dafne Schippers prevailed in the Dutch championships in 7.18 seconds while young dutch Seedo 7.27 set European all-time U18 best. Asha Phillip 7.14 at Birmingham GP.

February 17, 2019 See More on: Twitter

• Klosterhalfen 3000m NR/WL 8:32.47 at German Championships

Konstanze Klosterhalfen set a national record and World lead of 8:32.47 on day 1 at the German indoor championships. Also, Christina Schwanitz prevailed in the shot put with a World lead of 19.54m. Kristin Gierisch won the triple jump in a new meet record 14.38m. David Storl took the men's shot put with 21.32m SB. Kevin Kranz 5.59sec and Lisa Kwayie 7.19sec won the men's and women's  60m finals respectively.

February 16, 2019 See More on: German Champ Results

• Russia fields 11 athletes for 2019 European Athletics Indoor Championships in Glasgow

A coaching staff of Russia Athletics Federation has recommended a team of 11 athletes to participate as neutral athletes at the 2019 European Athletics Indoor Championships. Maria Lasitskene (HJ), Anzhelika Sidorova (PV), Polina Miller (sprints), Olga Mullina (PV), Maria Aglitskaya (sprints), Ilya Shurenev (Hept.), Ilya Ivanyuk (PV), Maxim Afonin (SP), Georgy Gorokhov (PV), Alexei Fyodorov (TJ), Yegor Nikolayev (mid-distance).

February 16, 2019 See More on: TASS.COM

• Medals for European Indoor Championships unveiled in Glasgow

The organizers of the Glasgow 2019 European Athletics Indoor Championships have unveiled the event’s official medals with just over a fortnight until the championships take place from 1-3 March.  The local organizing committee has teamed up with the acclaimed Glasgow School of Art, whose resident designer Andrew Fleming has designed the official medals for the upcoming championships.

February 15, 2019 See More on: European Athletics

Past Headlines Latest Results Upcoming Events
Watch Athletics
©2019 WATCHATHLETICS.COM. All rights reserved.