Defending Champions Berhanu and Haymanot to Lead Elite Field in 19th Tata Mumbai Marathon 2024

Posted by: Watch Athletics

The 19th Tata Mumbai Marathon, a prestigious World Athletics Gold Label Road Race, is set to take place on Sunday, January 21, 2024. This event will be headlined by Ethiopian defending champions Hayle Lemi Berhanu and Anchialem Haymanot, who hold the current event records. Berhanu previously achieved a remarkable time of 2:07:32, while Haymanot made an impressive debut with 2:24:15, both setting new records for the Mumbai marathon. Additionally, Haymanot improved her time to 2:22:23 in Amsterdam, and Berhanu recorded a season-best of 2:05:48.

Both athletes are eager to return to the Mumbai marathon, with Hayle expressing confidence in repeating his 2023 victory and Anchialem aiming to replicate her maiden marathon success from the previous year. However, the competition will be fierce, as several top athletes with personal bests surpassing the current Mumbai course records have entered the race.

The marathon, offering a total prize pool of US $405,000 with equal amounts for men and women winners, promises intense competition. Notable competitors include Ethiopian Kinde Atanw, with a personal best of 2:03:51 from the Valencia Marathon, and Lelisa Desisa, the 2019 World Champion, alongside other formidable runners.

The women's race also features strong contenders, including Ethiopians Tadelech Bekele and Sofia Assefa, who pose significant challenges to defending champion Anchialem. The Tata Mumbai Marathon is also a qualifying event for the Paris Olympic Games, adding to its significance in the world of marathon running.


Kinde AtanawETH2:03:51
Hayle LemiETH2:04:33
Lelisa DesisaETH2:04:45
Haymanot AlewETH2:05:57
Gebretsadik AbrahaETH2:06:08
Merhawi KeseteERI2:06:36
Yohans MekashaETH2:07:19
Mitku TafaETH2:08:18
Dickson KiptooKEN2:08:31
Joshua KogoKEN2:08:39
Mesele KirosETHDebut
Demeke TesfayeETHDebut


Anchialem HaymanotETH2:22:23
Tadelech BekeleETH2:21:40
Sofia AssefaETH2:23:33
Zenebu BihonegnETH2:24:16
Muluhabt TsegaETH2:24:23
Ayantu Gemechu AbdiETH2:24:45
Aberash FayisaETH2:24:59
Mulugojam BirhanETH2:27;52
Medhin BeyeneETH2:28:59
Maritu KetemaETH2:30:56
Aberash DemisseETH2:40:43
Ayinadis TeshomeETHDebut
Aberash MinsewoETHDebut
Latest News
©2024 WATCHATHLETICS.COM. All rights reserved.