Brigid Kosgei Smashes Abu Dhabi Marathon Course Record

Posted by: Watch Athletics

In a stunning display of athleticism, Brigid Kosgei shattered the women's course record at the fifth Adnoc Abu Dhabi Marathon, held this Saturday. The Tokyo Olympics silver medalist finished with an impressive time of 2 hours, 19 minutes, and 15 seconds, surpassing last year's record set by Eunice Chumba of Bahrain by over a minute. Kosgei's victory positions her as a strong contender for Kenya's national team in the upcoming 2024 Paris Olympics.

Sharing the spotlight was Eritrean runner Amare Hailemichael Samson, who made history as the first male winner from outside Kenya in this event. Samson finished with a time of 2 hours, 7 minutes, and 10 seconds, outpacing Kenya's Leonard Barsoton and Turkey’s Ilham Ozbilan.

At 29, Kosgei's triumph in Abu Dhabi is a significant milestone in her career, especially after recovering from an injury. Despite challenging weather conditions, she maintained a strong lead, particularly after the 30km mark. Her performance in Abu Dhabi is crucial but doesn't assure her a spot in Kenya's marathon team for the Paris Olympics, given the fierce competition among Kenyan runners.

Kosgei has an impressive track record, with major marathon wins in Chicago, London, and Tokyo, and held the women's marathon world record until recently.

On the men's side, Samson's victory in Abu Dhabi marked his first major marathon win. His unexpected triumph came after maintaining pace with the lead group and seizing his opportunity in the final stages of the race.

The event saw over 23,000 participants across various categories, including shorter distances and a wheelchair race, highlighting its growing popularity and the diverse array of athletes it attracts.


1.Brigid Jepchirchir KOSGEIKEN2:19:15
2.Hawi Feysa GEJIAETH2:24:03
3.Ethlemahu Sintayehu DESSIETH2:25:36
4.Aurelia Jerotich KIPTUIKEN2:28:59
5.Emily Chebet KIPCHUMBAKEN2:29:52
6.Tinebeb Nebiyu ALIETH2:31:32
7.Mulu Seboka SEYFUETH2:41:09
8.Aynalem Woldewariyat WOLDEMICHAELETH2:42:25
9.Etaferahu Dubale BETRIEETH2:52:47
10.Yayesh Mola FIKREETH2:58:30


1.Amare Hailemicael SAMSONERI2:07:10
2.Leonard BARSOTONKEN2:09:37
3.Ilham Tanui OZBILENTUR2:10:16
4.Gideon Kangwony CHEPKONGAKEN2:11:17
5.Isaac Kipsang TEMOIKEN2:11:34
6.Dametew Dechasa BEYENEETH2:11:55
7.Andrew Rotich KWEMOIUGA2:11:59
8.Micah Kipkosgei CHEMWENOKEN2:12:16
9.Philip KIPTOOUGA2:13:26
10.Chuchu MARUETH2:17:12
Latest News
©2024 WATCHATHLETICS.COM. All rights reserved.