Guteni Shone and Azmera Gebru start as the favourites in Valencia

Posted by: Watch Athletics

This year Valencia Marathon organisers have planned a sub-70 minute target at the half marathon mark with the goal to break the 2:20 barrier. 

The line-up is led by Ethiopia’s Guteni Shone, who narrowly missed the 2:20 barrier when she finished runner-up in 2:20:11 in Dubai in 2020. She finished second in Prague last May setting her seasonal best of 2:21:46. 

Watch Valencia Marathon live stream

Shone will face her compatriot Azmera Gebru, who improved her PB to 2:20:48 at the 2019 Amsterdam Marathon. 

The line-up also features Bornes Kitur Chepkirui from Kenya, winner at the 2018 Prague Marathon in 2:24:19 and in Lubljana in her PB of 2:21:26, Juliet Chekwel, who improved the Ugandan record to 2:23:13 in Seville in 2020, Nancy Jelagat, who holds a half marathon record of 1:05:21, Rahma Tusa from Ethiopia, who won the Rome Marathon three times in a row in 2016, 2017 and 2018, finished fifth in New York in 2018 and holds a PB of 2:23:46, and Dorcas Tuitoek, who ran a lifetime best of 1:06:33 in her career at the Istanbul Half Marathon in 2019 and will run the first marathon of her career. 

Olympic champion Peres Jepchirchir set the course record last year clocking 2:17:16. 

“This year’s marathon is extremely competitive, as we like it in Valencia. I don’t rule out a sprint finish in the women’s race. Valencia offers one of the best courses for achieving personal best times”, said elite coordinator Marc Roig.

Geoffrey Kamworor and Lawrence Cherono in the spotlight at the Valencia Marathon

Women's Elite field

151Guteni ShoneETH2h20:11
152Azmera GebruETH2h20:48
153Bornes ChepkiruiKEN2h21:26
154Bedatu HirpaETH2h21:32
155Juliet ChekwelUGA2h23:13
156Rahma TusaETH2h23:46
166Jessica AugustoPOR2h24:25
165Meseret DinkeETH2h25:31
167Fionnuala McCormackIRL2h26:47
168Daria MykhailovaUKR2h27:29
169Bojana BjeljacCRO2h27:42
209Iwona BernardelliPOL2h27:47
170Failuna MatangaTAN2h27:55
171Laura HottenrottGER2h28:02
172Giovanna EpisITA2h28:03
173Sonia SamuelsGBR2h28:04
174Nazret WelduERI2h28:07
175Paola BonillaECU2h28:24
164Elena LoyoESP2h28:25
176Kokob Tesfagaber SolomonERI2h28:37
178Marcela Cristina GómezARG2h28:58
179Úrsula SánchezMEX2h29:11
180Majida MaayoufMOR2h29:24
181Irene PelayoESP2h30:07
210Risper GesabwaMEX2h30:49
211Gulzhanat ZhanatbekKAZ2h33:25
212Aydee Loayza HuamanPER2h34:48
213Fortunate ChidzivoZIM2h35:19
182Emma MitchellIRL2h36:00
157Nancy JelagatKEN2h36:22
214Neja KrsinarSLO2h36:27
215Fanny PruvostFRA2h37:51
184Ivette MejiaUSA2h38:00
185Alexandra Marina Rosa de OliveiraPOR2h38:20
186Yesica MásESP2h39:36
187Aicha BaniMOR2h40:00
188Cristina McKnightESP2h40:29
189Cristina GiurcanuESP2h42:01
190Stefania LeontiadouGRE2h44:43
217Patricia SchreursNED2h44:44
191María Isabel VélezMEX2h47:25
192Barbara RamonESP2h48:23
193Juana García PérezESP2h48:44
194Emilia SiltanenFIN2h50:00
218Mandana NouriIRN2h54:28
Latest News
©2024 WATCHATHLETICS.COM. All rights reserved.