• Aiyabei sets Pargue Marathon Course Record (2:21:57)

Article source: Athletics

Kenya's Valary Aiyabei clocked massive of 2:21:57 to smash Prague marathon (IAAF Gold Label Road Race) course record on Sunday, May 6.

Aiyabei, who won Valencia and Barcelona marathons last year, shaved 37 seconds off from previous course record and more than 3 minutes from her own personal best  to win the 2017 Prague marathon.

There was a thrilling battle for the men's Prague marathon trophy as Ethiopian Gebretsadik Abraha beat his compatriot Bazu Worku by one second to win the race in 2:08.47. Another Ethiopian Mekuant Ayenew clocked 2:09:00 to conclude the podium. 

Top Results Men

1 Gebretsadik Abraha (ETH) 2:08:47

2 Bazu Worku (ETH) 2:08:48

3 Mekuant Ayenew (ETH) 2:09:00

4 Benson Kipruto (KEN) 2:09:51

5 Salah Eddine Bounasr (MAR) 2:10:04

6 Yuki Kawauchi (JPN) 2:10:13

7 Said Aitaddi (MAR) 2:10:38

8 Samsom Gebreyohannes (ERI) 2:14:25


Top Results Women

1 Valary Aiyabei (KEN) 2:21:57

2 Amane Beriso (ETH) 2:22:15

3 Tadelech Bekele (ETH) 2:22:23

4 Hirut Tibebu (ETH) 2:24:04

5 Feyse Tadese (ETH) 2:26:46

6 Carla Salome Rocha (POR) 2:27:08

7 Mulu Seboka (ETH) 2:29:17

8 Beatrice Toroitich (KEN) 2:32:25



Latest Videos
» Live Stream Athletics
» Texas Tech Classic, Lubbock, Texas - Live Stream
Thursday, Jan 24th at 19:00 (UTC)
» New Balance Indoor Grand Prix - Live Stream
Saturday, Jan 26th at 20:00 (UTC)
» ISTAF Indoor 2019 (Berlin, GER) - Live Stream
Friday, Feb 1st at 17:00 (UTC)
» Combined Events Tallinn 2019 - Live Stream
Saturday, Feb 2nd at 09:00 (UTC)
» Indoor Meeting - Karlsruhe - Live Stream
Saturday, Feb 2nd at 18:00 (UTC)
» Flash News

The IAAF Doping Review Board has agreed that the applications of 42 Russian athletes have met the exceptional eligibility criteria to compete in international competition as neutral athletes in 2019 under competition Rule 22.1A(b) while the Russian national federation (RusAF) remains suspended.


January 22, 2019 See More on: IAAF.ORG


Ethiopia’s Worknesh Alemu and Kenya’s Cosmas Lagat upset the formbook and produced outstanding performances in hot conditions to triumph at the Tata Mumbai Marathon on Sunday (20), winning at the IAAF Gold Label road race in 2:25:45 and 2:09:15 respectively. Both marks were the second fastest winning times in the history of the event, the pair taking first prize cheques of USD $45,000.

January 20, 2019 See More on: IAAF.ORG

• Stefanidi opens season with huge 4.74m clearance in Reno

Current Olympic, World and European champion Ekaterini Stefanidi of Greece opened her 2019 indoor season with a massive 4.74m clearance at the World's biggest pole vault meet, the UCS Pole Vault Summit, in Reno, Nevada on Friday night. (Women's top 3 Stefanidi 4.74 m; Nageotte 4.74m, and Jacobus 4.66m). (Men top 3: Ludwig 5.71m, Yamamoto 5.71m, and Irwin 5.61m).

January 19, 2019 See More on: IAAF.ORG

• Vivian Cheruiyot and Mary Keitany lead London Marathon women's elite field

The defending champion Vivian Cheruiyot and the current TCS New York City Marathon champion Mary Keitany return to the Virgin Money London Marathon in 2019. They join their compatriots Gladys Cherono (2018 Berlin Marathon champion) and Brigid Kosgei (2018 Chicago Marathon champion) meaning the winners of the last four Abbott World Marathon Majors will be on the Start Line in London on Sunday 28 April.

January 19, 2019 See More on: Londonmarathon

Past Headlines Latest Results Upcoming Events
Watch Athletics
©2019 WATCHATHLETICS.COM. All rights reserved.