• Collman Claims Sprint Titles at NCAA Indoor Champs

Article source: Athletics

Tennessee’s Christian Coleman claimed was by far the best performer as he won both sprint titles on the final day at the 2017 NCAA Indoor Track and Field Championships in College Station, Texas.

Coleman, who 5 days ago celebrated his 21st birthday, produced brilliant performance by winning the 60m and the 200m finals on Saturday, March 11. Tennessee's sprinter dominated the 60m dash final by equaling world lead of 6.45 seconds and later returned to track to win the 200m with an outstanding performance of 20.11 seconds.  Coleman's 200m winning time was only 0.01 second short of Wallace Spearmon's USA and NCAA indoor record. 

The women's sprint events were dominated by University of Oregon ladies. Hannah Cunliffe took the 60m in 7.14, while Ariana Washington won the 200m dash in a a new meeting record 22.42 seconds. Washington's 200m time was 0.02 seconds shy of Bianca Knight's NCAA record.

Fred Kerley of Texas A&M University produced world #4 all time mark and the best time in 2017 indoor season to win the men's 400m final in blazing 44.85 seconds. The second place with 45.64 seconds took Michael Cherry of LSU, while Fred's brother Mylik took third in 45.75 seconds. Later Kerley brothers teamed up in the 4x400m to help Texas A&M win the relay event and also win the men's NCAA team title over University of Florida. Watch Race Here.

Oregon’s Edward Cheserek after winning the 5000m on Friday tried to win the mile and 3000m tiles on Saturday. However the most decorated athlete in NCAA history was beat into second place by European Junior Champion New Mexico’s Josh Kerr (GBR), who blazed 54 second over the last 400m to claim the title. 

Cheserek 2 hours later bounced back from the defeat in the mile by winning the 3000m in 7:55.91. The 23-year-old kenyan has now won 17 NCAA titles 15 individual and 2 team titles. 

In the women's 800m final Raevyn Rogers broke the NCAA meeting record to win the 800m in 2:01.09.

Univesrity of Oregon women won the NCAA team tile as Texas A&M men took their first ever NCAA team trophy. 

See full meet results here.

Latest Videos
» Delhi Half Marathon 2018 - Live Stream
21 October 2018 at 01:30 (UTC)
» Amsterdam Marathon 2018 - Live Stream
21 October 2018 at 07:25 (UTC)
» Great South Run 2018 - Live Stream
21 October 2018 at 09:15 (UTC)
» Toronto Waterfront Marathon 2018 - Live Stream
21 October 2018 at 12:45 (UTC)
» Valencia Half Marathon 2018 - Live Stream
28 October 2018 at 06:00 (UTC)
» Mainova Frankfurt Marathon 2018 - Live Stream
28 October 2018 at 08:00 (UTC)
Flash News
» UEFA Champions League - Live Stream
23 Oct 2018 at 16:55 (UTC)
Past Headlines Latest Results Upcoming Events
21 Oct Toronto Waterfront Marathon 2018
21 Oct Delhi Half Marathon 2018
21 Oct Amsterdam Marathon 2018
14 Oct The Bridgestone Great 10k (Berlin, GER)
14 Oct EDP Maratona de Lisboa, (POR)
14 Oct Durban 10KM
14 Oct Eindhoven Marathon 2018
13 Oct NCAA D1 Pre Nationals 2018, (Madison,
11 Oct Athletics Youth Olympic Games (Buenos
07 Oct Košice Peace Marathon (SVK)
07 Oct Bank of America Chicago Marathon 2018
07 Oct Cardiff Half Marathon 2018 (GBR)
06 Oct Youth Olympic Games, (Buenos Aires 2018)
21 Oct Amsterdam Marathon 2018
21 Oct Delhi Half Marathon 2018
21 Oct Toronto Waterfront Marathon 2018
21 Oct Great South Run 2018
28 Oct Mainova Frankfurt Marathon 2018
28 Oct Volkswagen Ljubljana Marathon
28 Oct Marseille-Cassis 20KM
28 Oct Valencia Half Marathon 2018
28 Oct Venice Marathon 2018
04 Nov New York CIty Marathon 2018
08 Oct Live: Youth Olympic Games Buenos Aires ...
08 Oct Mo Farah wins Chicago Marathon with new ...
07 Oct Results: Chicago Marathon 2018 ...
04 Oct Chebet and Saina Join Strong Frankfurt ...
02 Oct Haspa Marathon Hamburg runs together with ...
02 Oct Chicago Marathon 2018 Elite Athletes Field ...
27 Sep This Weekend's Top Cross and Road Races to ...
17 Sep Eliud Kipchoge credits teamwork for his ...
16 Sep Watch: Kevin Mayer Breaks Decathlon World ...
16 Sep Kipchoge 2:01:39 Smashes World Marathon ...
16 Sep Results: 2018 BMW Berlin Marathon ...
15 Sep Another young RunCzech Racing star emerges ...
14 Sep Live: 2018 BMW Berlin Marathon ...
Watch Athletics
©2018 WATCHATHLETICS.COM. All rights reserved.