• Five Champions Crowned on Day One at European Indoor Championships in Belgrade

Article source: Athletics

Five European Indoor Champions were crowned on day one in Serbian capital on Friday, (March 3). 

Olympic heptathlon champion Nafissatou Thiam of Belgium claimed the the European pentathlon title with the 4th all time score in history of 4870 points. Until the last event the Olympic champion was close to brake the world pentathlon record, however a 2:24.44 performance in the 800m race erased any hopes to beat the 5013 world indoor record mark.

The first European Indoor Champion in Belgrade was Hungary's Anita Marton who took the women's shot put title with a new world leading mark of 19.28 meters. 

There was quite drama in the Women's 60m hurdles finals as failure in electronic starting system triggered 3 false starts. Finally with the 4th attempt Germany's Cindy Rolleder clocked 7.88 seconds to beat on the line reigning European indoor champion Alina Tallay of Belarus. 

The men's 60m hurdles final went smooth with Great Britain's Andy Pozzi winning his first big international title with a mark of 7.51 seconds. Frenchman Pascal Martinot-Lagarde came in second in 7.52 as the 2011 champion Petr Swoboda of Czech Republic took bronze in 7.53 seconds.

In the men's pole vault final, for the first time either in history of European Championships or World Championships, five men went over 5.80m. In the end, the world season leader and Polish record holder Piotr Lisek claimed the gold by clearing 5.85m on a countback over Konstadinos Fillipidis, who cleared a new Greece record (5.85m) and his countryman Pawel Wojciechowski (5.85m).

There were some big jumps in the men's triple jump qualification round as Germany's 20-year-old talent Max Hess jumped a massive personal best and a new national record and world 2017 indoor best of 17.52m to qualify himself for Saturday's final. A new World junior U20 record  set by Frenchman Melvin Raffin with a massive leap of 17.20m - 2nd in the qualification rounds. 

Great Britain's Lura Muir showed very strong performance as she managed to qualify for the 1500m and 3000m finals on the same day.

Latest Videos
» Delhi Half Marathon 2018 - Live Stream
21 October 2018 at 01:30 (UTC)
» Amsterdam Marathon 2018 - Live Stream
21 October 2018 at 07:25 (UTC)
» Great South Run 2018 - Live Stream
21 October 2018 at 09:15 (UTC)
» Toronto Waterfront Marathon 2018 - Live Stream
21 October 2018 at 12:45 (UTC)
» Valencia Half Marathon 2018 - Live Stream
28 October 2018 at 06:00 (UTC)
» Mainova Frankfurt Marathon 2018 - Live Stream
28 October 2018 at 08:00 (UTC)
Flash News
» UEFA Champions League - Live Stream
23 Oct 2018 at 16:55 (UTC)
Past Headlines Latest Results Upcoming Events
21 Oct Toronto Waterfront Marathon 2018
21 Oct Delhi Half Marathon 2018
21 Oct Amsterdam Marathon 2018
14 Oct The Bridgestone Great 10k (Berlin, GER)
14 Oct EDP Maratona de Lisboa, (POR)
14 Oct Durban 10KM
14 Oct Eindhoven Marathon 2018
13 Oct NCAA D1 Pre Nationals 2018, (Madison,
11 Oct Athletics Youth Olympic Games (Buenos
07 Oct Košice Peace Marathon (SVK)
07 Oct Bank of America Chicago Marathon 2018
07 Oct Cardiff Half Marathon 2018 (GBR)
06 Oct Youth Olympic Games, (Buenos Aires 2018)
21 Oct Amsterdam Marathon 2018
21 Oct Delhi Half Marathon 2018
21 Oct Toronto Waterfront Marathon 2018
21 Oct Great South Run 2018
28 Oct Mainova Frankfurt Marathon 2018
28 Oct Volkswagen Ljubljana Marathon
28 Oct Marseille-Cassis 20KM
28 Oct Valencia Half Marathon 2018
28 Oct Venice Marathon 2018
04 Nov New York CIty Marathon 2018
08 Oct Live: Youth Olympic Games Buenos Aires ...
08 Oct Mo Farah wins Chicago Marathon with new ...
07 Oct Results: Chicago Marathon 2018 ...
04 Oct Chebet and Saina Join Strong Frankfurt ...
02 Oct Haspa Marathon Hamburg runs together with ...
02 Oct Chicago Marathon 2018 Elite Athletes Field ...
27 Sep This Weekend's Top Cross and Road Races to ...
17 Sep Eliud Kipchoge credits teamwork for his ...
16 Sep Watch: Kevin Mayer Breaks Decathlon World ...
16 Sep Kipchoge 2:01:39 Smashes World Marathon ...
16 Sep Results: 2018 BMW Berlin Marathon ...
15 Sep Another young RunCzech Racing star emerges ...
14 Sep Live: 2018 BMW Berlin Marathon ...
Watch Athletics
©2018 WATCHATHLETICS.COM. All rights reserved.