• IAAF Names Finalists for Athlete of the Year Award

Article source:


The track and field governing body (IAAF) announced finalists  for the 2016 IAAF World Athlete of the Year awards.

Among the finalists are world's fastest man and woman Usain Bolt and Alaine Thompson from Jamaica. In rio Olympics both sprinters claimed gold in 100m and 200m. Bolt also won the 4x100m gold while Thompson took 4x100m relay silver. 

Other contender for the IAAF athlete of the year award is Great Britain's Mo Farah. In Rio Farah became only the 3rd man in history to successfully defend the 5000m and 10000m Olympic gold. 

Ethiopia's Almaz Ayana broke the world 10000m record to claim the Olympic gold in Rio.  

Wayde Van Niekerk of South Africa shocked the athletics world by taking the gold in the men's 400m shattering Micheal Johnson's world record.

Poland's Anita Anita Wlodarczyk is also among the contenders for the IAAF (AOY) trophy. She won the hammer throw gold in Rio and later smashed her own world record. 

In less than 30 days the World Athletes of the Year will be announced live on stage at the IAAF Athletics Awards 2016.

Image Source: Link

Latest Videos
» Live Stream Athletics
Saturday, Mar 23rd at 08:50 (UTC)
Saturday, Mar 30th at 10:00 (UTC)
Saturday, Apr 6th at 08:00 (UTC)
Sunday, Apr 7th at 08:00 (UTC)
Sunday, Apr 7th at 08:00 (UTC)
Sunday, Apr 7th at 08:00 (UTC)
» Flash News
• Asbel Kiprop Leaves For London Hoping Doping Nightmare Will End

Beijing 2008 Olympic and three-time men 1500m champion Asbel Kiprop is hoping his doping nightmare will finally end on Thursday when the Athletics Integrity Unit (AIU) is expected to deliver a final ruling on the case that stunned the sport in London. Last year his samples from an out-of-competition test conducted in his home in Iten on November 27, 2017, had returned adverse finding for banned blood booster EPO.

March 21, 2019 See More on: Sportpesanews

• Testosterone rules for female athletes 'unscientific'

New rules to reduce naturally high testosterone levels in female athletes have been branded "unscientific". Last year, athletics chiefs ruled women with levels of five nanomoles per litre or more must have hormone treatment before being allowed to compete. But experts, reporting in the British Medical Journal, say there is a lack of evidence about testosterone's effects and the cut-off figure is arbitrary.

March 21, 2019 See More on: BBC Athletics

• What are the benefits from the new IAAF qualifying system?

IAAF last week established a new system qualifying system for the 2020 Tokyo Olympics with the ridiculously high standards and ranking system that will be used to select athletes for the next Olympic and possibly next World championships. What are the positives and which countries will benefit the most from the new IAAF qualification system?

March 19, 2019 See More on: Watch Athletics Forum

• Sondre Moen Wins Gdynia Half Marathon in 1:01:17

Norway's Sondre Moen, the European Marathon record holder (2:05:48), made a return to road racing after recovering from tendon tear in the groin at the Gdynia Half Marathon in Poland. Moen took a very comfortable win in 1:01:17 which is a new course record. Poland's Krystian Zalewski in his debut took second place in 1:02:36.


March 17, 2019 See More on: Twitter

Past Headlines Latest Results Upcoming Events
Watch Athletics
©2019 WATCHATHLETICS.COM. All rights reserved.