• 2016 Chicago marathon Elite Field

Article source:


Men's and Women's elite field for the 2016 Bank of America Chicago Marathon. 

Men's elite field is led by Kenya's Dickson Chumba, the 2015 Chicago marathon winner who holds a personal best of 2:04:32. Over the past years, Chumba also produced victories in Rome, Eindhoven and Tokyo. 

Women's is led by 2-time World Cross Country Champion, the 2011 world half marathon and Berlin marathon champion, Florence Kiplagat of Kenya. With her 2:19:44 personal best Kiplagat is the only sub 2:20 marathoner among the women in the field. 

Men's Elite Field 

Dickson Chumba (KEN) Marathon PR: 2:04:32

Tsegaye Kebede (ETH) Marathon PR: 2:04:38

Abel Kirui (KEN) Marathon PR: 2:05:04

Micah Kogo (KEN) Marathon PR: 2:06:56

Paul Lonyangata (KEN) Marathon PR: 2:07:14

Gideon Kipketer (KEN) Marathon PR: 2:08:14

Koji Gokaya (JPN) Marathon PR: 2:09:21

Takuya Fukatsu (JPN) Marathon PR: 2:09:31

Luke Puskedra (USA) Marathon PR: 2:10:24

Elkanah Kibet (USA) Marathon PR: 2:11:31

Kazuya Ishida (JPN) Marathon PR: 2:11:57

Ryoichi Matsuo (JPN) Marathon PR: 2:12:11

Tim Young (USA) Marathon PR: 2:14:40

David Nilsson (SWE) Marathon PR: 2:17:19

Jose Madera (USA) Marathon PR: 2:17:25

Tony Migliozzi (USA) Marathon PR: 2:17:44

Jonathan Mott (USA) Marathon PR: 2:18:12

Kevin Havel (USA) Marathon PR: 2:21:57

Dustin Emerick (USA) Marathon PR: 2:22:16

Andrew Epperson (USA) Marathon PR: 2:22:20

Diego Estrada (USA)

Stephen Sambu (KEN) Marathon debut

Tom Anderson (GBR) Marathon debut

Chris Burnett (USA) Marathon debut

Kiya Dandena (USA) Marathon debut

Andrew Sherman (GBR) Marathon debut

Daniel Wallis (NZL) Marathon debut


Women's Elite

Florence Kiplagat (KEN) Marathon PR: 2:19:44

Atsede Baysa (ETH) Marathon PR: 2:22:03

Valentine Kipketer (KEN) Marathon PR: 2:23:02

Gulume Chala (ETH) Marathon PR: 2:23:12

Yebrgual Melese (ETH) Marathon PR: 2:23:23

Visiline Jepkesho (KEN) Marathon PR: 2:24:44

Purity Rionoripo (KEN) Marathon PR: 2:25:00

Meskerem Assefa (ETH) Marathon PR: 2:25:11

Serena Burla (USA) Marathon PR: 2:28:01

Freya Ross (GBR) Marathon PR: 2:28:10

Jessica Draskau-Petersson (DEN)  Marathon PR: 2:30:07

Tera Moody (USA) Marathon PR: 2:30:53

Agnieszka Mierzejewska (POL) Marathon PR: 2:30:55

Sarah Crouch (USA) Marathon PR: 2:32:44

Heather Lieberg (USA) Marathon PR: 2:34:08

Sarah Cummings (USA) Marathon PR: 2:34:47

Alia Gray (USA) Marathon PR: 2:35:47

Laurie Knowles (USA) Marathon PR: 2:36:29

Caitlin Chrisman (USA) Marathon PR: 2:40:28

Julia Roman-Duval (USA) Marathon PR: 2:40:55

Rachel Hyland (USA) Marathon PR: 2:41:26

Emma Polley (USA) Marathon PR: 2:42:07

Kristen Heckert (USA) Marathon PR: 2:42:32

Columba Montes (USA) Marathon PR: 2:51:45

Latest Videos
» Live Stream Athletics
Saturday, Mar 30th at 10:00 (UTC)
Saturday, Apr 6th at 08:00 (UTC)
Sunday, Apr 7th at 08:00 (UTC)
Sunday, Apr 7th at 08:00 (UTC)
Sunday, Apr 7th at 08:00 (UTC)
Sunday, Apr 14th at 00:00 (UTC)
» Flash News

Defending champion Priscilla Kipruto Chepatiy and winners of the 2015 edition, Li Zicheng and Chen Linming of China, will all return to the 2019 Beverly Wuxi Marathon, an IAAF Bronze Label road race, on Sunday (24). Last year Chepatiy came from nowhere to notch her 2:33:34 victory in the southeastern Chinese city in what was just her first official race over the classic distance, while Chen took the top honors in 2015 with a 2:51:43.

March 23, 2019 See More on: IAAF.ORG

• Asbel Kiprop Leaves For London Hoping Doping Nightmare Will End

Beijing 2008 Olympic and three-time men 1500m champion Asbel Kiprop is hoping his doping nightmare will finally end on Thursday when the Athletics Integrity Unit (AIU) is expected to deliver a final ruling on the case that stunned the sport in London. Last year his samples from an out-of-competition test conducted in his home in Iten on November 27, 2017, had returned adverse finding for banned blood booster EPO.

March 21, 2019 See More on: Sportpesanews

• Testosterone rules for female athletes 'unscientific'

New rules to reduce naturally high testosterone levels in female athletes have been branded "unscientific". Last year, athletics chiefs ruled women with levels of five nanomoles per litre or more must have hormone treatment before being allowed to compete. But experts, reporting in the British Medical Journal, say there is a lack of evidence about testosterone's effects and the cut-off figure is arbitrary.

March 21, 2019 See More on: BBC Athletics

• What are the benefits from the new IAAF qualifying system?

IAAF last week established a new system qualifying system for the 2020 Tokyo Olympics with the ridiculously high standards and ranking system that will be used to select athletes for the next Olympic and possibly next World championships. What are the positives and which countries will benefit the most from the new IAAF qualification system?

March 19, 2019 See More on: Watch Athletics Forum

Past Headlines Latest Results Upcoming Events
Watch Athletics
©2019 WATCHATHLETICS.COM. All rights reserved.