• Lavillenie on his way to 7th Diamond League title

Article source: Athletics


With two finals in Zurich on September 1 and then in Brussels on September 9, the 2016 Diamond League circuit will finally be over. 

Diamond League  organizers improved the point system for this year by allowing top 6 athletes to score. Also points in the Diamond league finals are doubled. The new change allows more athletes to participate for the win in these series which consist of 14 stages. 

The winner in each event will take home Diamond Trophy, USD40,000$ cash prize and a wild card to the next  IAAF World Championships.  In order to receive the Diamond League title and prizes, leading athletes must action in one of the two the finals.

Place Points At final
1st 10 20
2nd 6 12
3rd 4 8
4th 3 6
5th 2 4
6th 1 2

Seven athletes just by showing up in one of the finals will claim Diamond League trophy, while many others will have to battle to win the main prize. 

Men's Pole Vault: the new point system has not stopped the pole vault world record holder,  Renaud Lavillenie, to win his 7th straight Diamond Trophy as he is in the lead with 52 points. The closest  athlete to Lavillenie with 30 points is USA's Sam Kendricks. This means that  neither Kendricks nor anyone else can beat Lavillenie for the trophy even if the Frenchman finishes last in Zurich on Thursday.  As of today Lavillenie is the only man to win all the Diamond League Trophies since these series started in 2010. 

Women's 100m hurdles: USA's Kendra Harrison who failed to qualify for Rio Olympics at USA trials but then broke the 100m hurdles world record leads this event with 50 points. Meanwhile Brianna Rollins is in second with 28 points. Like Lavillenie, Harrison just needs to participate in the final to claim her first Diamond Trophy. 

Women's Long Jump: Rio Olympics bronze medallist Ivana Spanovic is in the shape of her her life as she is the lone leader with 56 points. There is nothing anyone can do to stop the 26-year-old to become first Serbian to win the Diamond League trophy. 

Women's Triple Jump: With 56 points the women's triple jump "power house" Caterina Ibarguen of Colombian will secure her another Diamond League trophy if she only attempts one jump in the final in Brussels on September 9. The 2012 Diamond Race winner Olga Rypakova of Kazakhstan is second in the triple jump lists with 27 points.  

Women's Shot Put: New Zealand's Valerie Adams, who was beaten into second place in a dramatic shot put final in Rio Olympics,  is on her way to win her 4th Diamond League Trophy. She is leading the race with 46 points while Tia Brooks of the United States sits in the second place with 25 points. 

Women's Discus Throw: Reigning Olympic and World champion Sandra Perkovic is the only female athlete this year that has not been defeated in Diamond League circuit. If all goes well she will win her 5th consecutive Diamond Trophy . 

Men's 3000m Steeple: Rio Olympics gold medallist Conseslus Kipruto of Kenya will have to wait until September 9 to add to his honors his first Diamond League title. The 21-year-old Kipruto has won all five Diamond League steeple races this year. 

See Full Diamond League leader board here.

To watch Zurich Diamond Live Online see page here; Brussels diamond League live stream info here.

See the full start for Zurich Diamond League here.

Latest Videos
» New Balance Indoor Grand Prix - Live Stream
26 January 2019 at 20:00 (UTC)
» ISTAF Indoor 2019 (Berlin, GER) - Live Stream
01 February 2019 at 17:00 (UTC)
» Combined Events Tallinn 2019 - Live Stream
02 February 2019 at 09:00 (UTC)
» Indoor Meeting - Karlsruhe - Live Stream
02 February 2019 at 18:00 (UTC)
» RIG Games 2019 - Live Stream
03 February 2019 at 10:00 (UTC)
Flash News »
• IAAF Doping Review Board Approves Guidance Note For 2019 Neutral Athlete Status (ANA)

The IAAF Doping Review Board has approved an updated version of the Guidance Note for (ANA) status applications under IAAF Competition Rule 22.1A.

Athletes who were granted ANA status in 2018 are able to re-apply for eligibility in 2019 by completing a simplified application form.

December 18, 2018 See More on: IAAF

• 14 year old girl in Nigeria runs 52.35 in the 400m

Nigeria's Nse Imaobong Uko produced a storming 52.35sec over 400m at the National Sports Festival in Abuja. Her mark is a new World record for 14-year-olds and under. 

December 18, 2018 See More on: Twitter

• Hasay and Hall added to Boston Marathon Field

Jordan Hasay, Sara Hall to join champions Desiree Linden & Tatyana McFadden in 2019 Boston Marathon field.  Hassay's (2:23:00) marathon debut in Boston in 2017 remains the fastest-ever by an American woman. Hall, is the 2017 US marathon champion.

December 18, 2018 See More on:

• RUS Olympic Committee admits struggling to get athletes stripped of medals for doping to return them

Russian athletes disqualified from the Olympic Games have failed to return any of their medals in 2018, the Russian Olympic Committee (ROC) has admitted.

December 18, 2018 See More on: Inside the Games

• Lavillenie Aims 5th Straight European Indoor Gold in Glasgow

It has been nearly four years since Renaud Lavillenie won his last European title but the Frenchman has mapped out his indoor season which will culminate at the Glasgow 2019 European Athletics Indoor Championships from 1-3 March.

December 18, 2018 See More on: European Athletics

Past Headlines Latest Results Upcoming Events
16 Dec Cross Internacional de Venta de Baños
16 Dec Shenzhen Marathon 2018 (CHI)
16 Dec Tata Steel Kolkata 25K (2018)
16 Dec Mersin Marathon 2018 (TUR)
16 Dec Bangsaen21 Half Marathon
13 Dec Zatopek: 10 (2018)
09 Dec Zurich Maratón de Malaga 2018
09 Dec European Cross Country Championships,
09 Dec Standard Chartered Singapore Marathon
08 Dec Foot Locker National Championships 2018
07 Dec Abu Dhabi Marathon 2018
02 Dec California International Marathon 2018
02 Dec Valencia Marathon 2018
30 Dec Corrida Internationale de Houilles (FRA)
31 Dec San Silvestre Vallecana, Madrid (ESP)
06 Jan 62° Campaccio-International Cross
09 Jan NYRR Millrose Games Trials
12 Jan Great Stirling Cross Cross Country 2019
13 Jan Cross Internacional Juan Muguerza,
19 Jan Northern Ireland International Cross
20 Jan Cross Internacional de Italica, Sevilla
26 Jan New Balance Indoor Grand Prix
27 Jan 87th Cinque Mulini, San Vittore Olona
27 Jan Meeting de Paris Indoor
01 Feb ISTAF Indoor 2019 (Berlin, GER)
01 Feb Meeting de l'Eure
03 Dec Lavillenie, Spanovic, Lückenkemper for ...
03 Dec RunCzech celebrating the end of its ...
02 Dec Results: Fukuoka International Marathon ...
02 Dec Results: Valencia Marathon 2018 ...
02 Dec Dido and Gebreselassie Smash Records in ...
30 Nov Road and Cross Country Action This Weekend ...
25 Nov Results: Asics Firenze Marathon 2018 ...
25 Nov Salpeter Smashes Firenze Marathon Course ...
18 Nov Ethiopians Tura and Melese Prevail in ...
17 Nov Results: NCAA D1 Cross Country ...
16 Nov Top road and cross country action this ...
13 Nov Best VPN to Watch Live Sports Free ...
12 Nov Bright Future beckons for resurgent Athens ...
Watch Athletics
©2018 WATCHATHLETICS.COM. All rights reserved.