• Semenya blazes 1:55.33 at Diamond League in Monaco

Article source: Athletics

South Africa's Caster Semenya clocked a blazing personal best, a new Diamond League record, and new world lead at the Diamond League Meet in Monaco on Friday.

The former world champion Caster Semenya of South Africa crushed the women's 800m field clocking a new national record time of 1:55.33.  World indoor champion Francine Niyonsaba crossed the line seconds in a new Burundi national record of 1:56.92, while Kenya's Eunice Sum posted season's best of 1:57.49 to  take third.  Margaret Wambui after finishing in 4th behind Sum  in a new personal best of 1:57.52 was disqualified.  Semenya,  who clocked 50.74 in 400m at SA national championships and 4:01.99 in 1500m at African championships last month, confirmed she will attempt the 400m/800m double at Rio Olympics.

World 200m champion Dafne Schippers dominated the women's 100m dash crossing the line in 10.94 seconds into -0.5m/s headwind.

South Africa's Wayde van Niekerk took the men's 400m in 44.13 followed by Machel Cedenio of Trinidad who posted his lifetime best of 44.34 and Grenada's Bralon Taplin 44.38.

Ronald Kwemoi produced a major upset in the men's 1500m as he managed to beat  Asbel Kiprop, Mo Farah and Taoufik Makhloufi in the men's 1500m. The 3-time world champions Asbel Kiprop was paced through 800m in very fast 1:50.  However when he was reaching 1000m marker it was clear he will not be the winner as Morocco's Abdelaati took the lead 450m to go. Coming out of the final bend several men had a chance to win, but Kwemoi, who took third at Kenyan trials, stormed to a victory in a new season's best of 3:30.49. Second place took  Elijah Monogoi in 3:31.19 as the Olympic champion Taoufik Makhloufi was third in 3:31.35. Double Olympic champion Mo Farah finished in 4th, while meet record holder Kiprop faded to 6th place.

World indoor champion and newly crowned European champion Gianmarco Tamberi set a new Italian record of 2.39m to claim the win in the men's high jump contest.

Orlando Ortega of Spain clocked 13.04 seconds to win the men's 110m hurdles.

See full meeting results here>>




Latest Videos
» Osaka Marathon 2018 - Live Stream
25 November 2018 at 01:00 (UTC)
» Valencia Marathon 2018 - Live Stream
02 December 2018 at 07:30 (UTC)
Past Headlines Latest Results Upcoming Events
18 Nov Zevenheuvelenloop 2018
18 Nov Semi-Marathon de Boulogne Billancourt
18 Nov Shanghai International Marathon 2018
17 Nov Corrida Bulloise 2018
17 Nov NCAA D1 Cross Country Championships 2018
11 Nov Beirut Marathon 2018
11 Nov Cross de Atapuerca 2018, Burgos (ESP)
11 Nov Istanbul Marathon 2018
11 Nov Athens Marathon The Authentic 2018
04 Nov New York City Marathon 2018
03 Nov Dash to the Finish Line 5K and USATF 5K
28 Oct Venice Marathon 2018
28 Oct Valencia Half Marathon 2018
25 Nov Cross Internacional de la Constitucion,
25 Nov Asics Firenze Marathon, Florence (ITA)
25 Nov Osaka Marathon 2018
02 Dec Marathon du Gabon Olam
02 Dec The 72nd Fukuoka International Marathon
02 Dec 10K Valencia Trinidad Alfonso
02 Dec Valencia Marathon 2018
07 Dec Abu Dhabi Marathon
09 Dec Saitama International Marathon (JPN)
09 Dec Guangzhou Marathon (CHI)
09 Dec Standard Chartered Singapore Marathon
09 Dec European Cross Country Championships,
16 Dec Bangsaen21 Half Marathon
11 Nov Ruth Chepngetich Smashes Istanbul Marathon ...
08 Nov Eliud Kipchoge and Gladys Cherono Best ...
05 Nov Athens Marathon: a Greek Success Story ...
04 Nov Lelisa Desisa Claims New York City ...
04 Nov Mary Keitany wins 4th New York City ...
03 Nov Results: 2018 New York City Marathon ...
03 Nov Live: New York City Marathon 2018 ...
02 Nov Elite Athletes: 2018 TCS New York City ...
28 Oct Kelkile Gezahegn triumphs, Meskerem Assefa ...
28 Oct Top Results Valencia Half Marathon 2018 ...
28 Oct Abraham Kiptum Smashes Half Marathon World ...
27 Oct Results: 2018 Frankfurt Marathon ...
27 Oct Live: Frankfurt Marathon 2018 ...
Watch Athletics
©2018 WATCHATHLETICS.COM. All rights reserved.