• Ayana beats Dibaba in her first ever 10000m race

Article source: Athletics

Almaz Ayana, the 2015 world 5000m champion, defeated the 3-time Olympic champion Tirunesh Dibaba in her first ever 10,000m race at the Ethiopian 10,000m trials in Hengelo, Netherlands on Wednesday. 

Ayana clocked a big world leading mark of 30:07.00 for the win, while defending world champion Gelete Burka took second in  30:28,47  with Dibaba in third in 30:28,53. 

The top three women will be selected for the Ethiopian team for Rio Olympics. 

Women's 10,00m Results: 2016  Ethiopian Olympic Trials, Hengelo Netherlands, June 28

1 Almaz Ayana Ethiopië 30:07,00
2 Gelete Burka Ethiopië 30:28,47
3 Tirunesh Dibaba Ethiopië 30:28,53
4 Netsanet Gudeta Ethiopië 30:36,75
5 Genet Yalew Ethiopië 30:37,38
6 Senbere Teferi Ethiopië 30:40,59 —
7 Belaynesh Oljira Ethiopië 30:50,25
8 Ababel Yeshaneh Ethiopië 30:54,12
9 Tadelech Bekele Ethiopië 30:54,61
10 Gotytom Gebreslase Ethiopië 31:14,52
11 Sule Uture Ethiopië 32:08,02
12 Elizeba Cherono Nederland 32:15,53
13 Nazret Weldu Ethiopië 32:58,28
Alemitu Heroye Ethiopië DNF
Meselech Melkamu Ethiopië DNF
Enatnesh Alamrew PACE Ethiopië DNF —

Latest Videos
» Live Stream Athletics
Saturday, Mar 23rd at 08:50 (UTC)
Saturday, Mar 23rd at 16:30 (UTC)
Saturday, Mar 23rd at 16:30 (UTC)
Saturday, Mar 23rd at 20:00 (UTC)
Saturday, Mar 30th at 10:00 (UTC)
Saturday, Apr 6th at 08:00 (UTC)
» Flash News
• Asbel Kiprop Leaves For London Hoping Doping Nightmare Will End

Beijing 2008 Olympic and three-time men 1500m champion Asbel Kiprop is hoping his doping nightmare will finally end on Thursday when the Athletics Integrity Unit (AIU) is expected to deliver a final ruling on the case that stunned the sport in London. Last year his samples from an out-of-competition test conducted in his home in Iten on November 27, 2017, had returned adverse finding for banned blood booster EPO.

March 21, 2019 See More on: Sportpesanews

• Testosterone rules for female athletes 'unscientific'

New rules to reduce naturally high testosterone levels in female athletes have been branded "unscientific". Last year, athletics chiefs ruled women with levels of five nanomoles per litre or more must have hormone treatment before being allowed to compete. But experts, reporting in the British Medical Journal, say there is a lack of evidence about testosterone's effects and the cut-off figure is arbitrary.

March 21, 2019 See More on: BBC Athletics

• What are the benefits from the new IAAF qualifying system?

IAAF last week established a new system qualifying system for the 2020 Tokyo Olympics with the ridiculously high standards and ranking system that will be used to select athletes for the next Olympic and possibly next World championships. What are the positives and which countries will benefit the most from the new IAAF qualification system?

March 19, 2019 See More on: Watch Athletics Forum

• Sondre Moen Wins Gdynia Half Marathon in 1:01:17

Norway's Sondre Moen, the European Marathon record holder (2:05:48), made a return to road racing after recovering from tendon tear in the groin at the Gdynia Half Marathon in Poland. Moen took a very comfortable win in 1:01:17 which is a new course record. Poland's Krystian Zalewski in his debut took second place in 1:02:36.


March 17, 2019 See More on: Twitter

Past Headlines Latest Results Upcoming Events
Watch Athletics
©2019 WATCHATHLETICS.COM. All rights reserved.