• Trinidad and Tobago Champs: Two men break 10 seconds in 100m; Ahye takes sprint double

Article source: Athletics

Two men broke 10 seconds in the men's 100m final while, while Michelle-Lee Ahye won the women's 100m and 200m titles at the Trinidad and Tobago national championships over the weekend. 

On Saturday June 26, Richard Thompson clocked an impressive 9.97 seconds beating into second place Rondell Sorrillo, who clocked a new PB of 9.99 seconds. In the following Sorrillo came to clock 20.24 seconds and  to defeat the 2008 Olympic silver medalist, Thompson, into second in the men's 200m final. 

Michelle-Lee Ahye had an outstanding weekend as she took  100m and 200m titles.  On Saturday the 2015 world championships finalist clocked 11.00 to win 100m  while on Sunday she dominated the 200m by crossing the line in 22.33 seconds.

High class performances were produced in the men's 400m final as the-21-year-old Machel Cedenio clocked 44.45 seconds for the win. Lalonde Gordon took second place with 44.69, while Deon Lendore closed the top three in 45.47 seconds.  

In the men's Javelin competition Olympic Champions Keshorn Walcott threw 80.45m to take Trinidad and Tobago title.

See Full meet Results here.

Latest Videos
» Live Stream Athletics
Wednesday, Feb 20th at 17:30 (UTC)
Friday, Feb 22nd at 19:00 (UTC)
Friday, Feb 22nd at 20:00 (UTC)
Friday, Feb 22nd at 20:30 (UTC)
Sunday, Feb 24th at 15:00 (UTC)
Sunday, Mar 3rd at 01:00 (UTC)
» Flash News

Nine of this season's 11 IAAF World Indoor Tour titles will be up for grabs when the six-meeting series concludes with the PSD Bank Meeting in Dusseldorf on Wednesday (20) night, but none will be as eagerly anticipated and as closely watched as the battle for the men's 1500m when Samuel Tefera returns to the track just four days after his sensational world record-breaking run in Birmingham.

February 19, 2019 See More on: IAAF.ORG

• Caster Semenya: South African runner's appeal against IAAF rule begins

Olympic 800m champion Caster Semenya's appeal against a regulation restricting testosterone levels in female runners began on Monday - as the head of world athletics again defended the rule. South African Semenya, 28, is seeking to overturn the regulation at the Court of Arbitration for Sport (Cas). The case will be heard until Friday, with a verdict expected by 29 March.


February 19, 2019 See More on: BBC Sports

• Selection chaos sees British Athletics forced to pick incomplete sprint team for European Indoor Championships

Richard Kilty, the double reigning European 60m champion, has hit out at not being given the chance to attempt a historic hat-trick in Glasgow after British Athletics were forced into humiliatingly selecting just one male sprinter despite having three spots to fill. 


February 17, 2019 See More on: The Telegraph


Ethiopians Ayana Tsedat and Guteni Shone grabbed convincing victories at the 35th Zurich Maratón de Sevilla. 22-year-old Tsedat clocked 2:06:36 to improve the race record by 1:07. Likewise Shone’s winning time of 2:24:29 broke the course record by a similar difference, 1:06. Volha Mazuronak of Belarus  (2:26:13) and Kenyan Barnabas Kiptum (2:09:20) broke course records at the Standard Chartered Hong Kong Marathon.

February 17, 2019 See More on: IAAF.ORG

Past Headlines Latest Results Upcoming Events
Watch Athletics
©2019 WATCHATHLETICS.COM. All rights reserved.