• Ayana shines at Rabat Diamond League

Article source: Athletics

Ethiopia's Almaz Ayana showed superb performance in the women's 5000m to highlight the first ever Diamond League meet on African continent in Rabat on Sunday afternoon.

In a world record attempt race Ayana recorded one of the fastest 5000m in history of 14:16:31 to secure her first Diamond League win this year. 

With her outstanding solo performance in Rabat, Ayana proved that the world record of 14:11:15 by Tirunesh Dibaba is in real danger and that she will be the favourite to win gold at Rio Olympics where she also plans to run the 10,000. 

"In the Olympics, I am planning to compete in both the 5000m and 10,000m." Said Ayana after the competition.

Meanwhile Kenya's Viola Jelagat of Kenya  finished in distant second place with a new PB of 14:29:50. While Senbere Teferi (ETH)  took third with a new PB of 14:35:09.

In the women's 800m South Africa's Caster Semenya beat world indoor champion Francine Niyonsaba (BDI) in the home stretch and improving her own world lead to 1:56.64. Runner up Niyonsaba clocked 1:57:74, while Renele Lamote of France clocked 1:58:84 to take third.

On the men's side Frenchman Pierre-Ambroise Bosse running 1:44.51 got his first ever diamond league win by beating a very strong men's 800m.

A world leading mark fell in the men's 3000m steeplechase where Kenya's Conseslus Kipruto cruised 8:02:77 for the win. Also in the men's 3000m race Abdalaati Iguider posted WL of 7:36:85.

Elsewhere on the track LaShawn Merritt (USA) ran a very strong last 70m to claim 400m win in 44.66. 

Panama's Alonso Edwards clocked took a comfortable win in the 200m race crossing the line after 20.07.

Jamaica's Elaine Thompson beat Nigeria's Blessing Okagbare to win 100m in 11.07. Jamaican's celebrated another win in Rabat after Janieve Russell clocked world #2 of 54.16 for the win. 

 Watch Race Videos Here.

Women's 5000m Results | Full Meet Results Here.

1 Almaz AYANA ETH 14:16.31
2 Viola Jelagat KIBIWOT KEN 14:29.50
3 Senbere TEFERI ETH 14:35.09
4 Janet KISA KEN 14:38.70
5 Ababel YESHANEH ETH 14:41.58
6 Alemitu HEROYE ETH 14:43.58
7 Meraf BAHTA SWE 14:49.95

8 Sentayehu LEWETEGN ETH 15:06.49

9 Sviatlana KUDZELICH BLR 15:50.57

Lydia Nasimiyu WAFULA KEN DNF


Latest Videos
» Live Stream Athletics
Saturday, Mar 23rd at 08:50 (UTC)
Saturday, Mar 23rd at 16:30 (UTC)
Saturday, Mar 23rd at 16:30 (UTC)
Saturday, Mar 23rd at 20:00 (UTC)
Saturday, Mar 30th at 10:00 (UTC)
Saturday, Apr 6th at 08:00 (UTC)
» Flash News
• Asbel Kiprop Leaves For London Hoping Doping Nightmare Will End

Beijing 2008 Olympic and three-time men 1500m champion Asbel Kiprop is hoping his doping nightmare will finally end on Thursday when the Athletics Integrity Unit (AIU) is expected to deliver a final ruling on the case that stunned the sport in London. Last year his samples from an out-of-competition test conducted in his home in Iten on November 27, 2017, had returned adverse finding for banned blood booster EPO.

March 21, 2019 See More on: Sportpesanews

• Testosterone rules for female athletes 'unscientific'

New rules to reduce naturally high testosterone levels in female athletes have been branded "unscientific". Last year, athletics chiefs ruled women with levels of five nanomoles per litre or more must have hormone treatment before being allowed to compete. But experts, reporting in the British Medical Journal, say there is a lack of evidence about testosterone's effects and the cut-off figure is arbitrary.

March 21, 2019 See More on: BBC Athletics

• What are the benefits from the new IAAF qualifying system?

IAAF last week established a new system qualifying system for the 2020 Tokyo Olympics with the ridiculously high standards and ranking system that will be used to select athletes for the next Olympic and possibly next World championships. What are the positives and which countries will benefit the most from the new IAAF qualification system?

March 19, 2019 See More on: Watch Athletics Forum

• Sondre Moen Wins Gdynia Half Marathon in 1:01:17

Norway's Sondre Moen, the European Marathon record holder (2:05:48), made a return to road racing after recovering from tendon tear in the groin at the Gdynia Half Marathon in Poland. Moen took a very comfortable win in 1:01:17 which is a new course record. Poland's Krystian Zalewski in his debut took second place in 1:02:36.


March 17, 2019 See More on: Twitter

Past Headlines Latest Results Upcoming Events
Watch Athletics
©2019 WATCHATHLETICS.COM. All rights reserved.