• Diamond League kicks off with a 'Bang' in Doha

Article source: Athletics

World's top athletes once again produced outstanding performances at the opening Diamond Lague meet Doha on Friday, May 6.

On of the top highlights came from women's triple jump where Olympic and World champion Caterine Ibarguen of Colombia prevailed over world indoor champion the 20-year-old Colombian Yulimar Rojas. Colombian youngster Rojas took the lead from Ibarguen in round 5 with when she leaped 14.92m  (+2.6m/s). Ibarguen responded in style as she jumped a massive 15.05m a new world leading and extended her win-streak to 32 competitions.  

Elsewhere in the field events Poland's Piotr Malachowski threw a new world leader in his season opener of 68.03m. South African Sunette Viljoen won the women's javelin 65.14m also the best mark this season in the world. 

Sandi Morris of the United States took the women's pole vault with a mark of 4.83m, while her compatriot world indoor champion Tia Brooks prevailed in the shot put contest with her best mark of 19.48m. 

In the women's 100m American Tori Bowie produced the fastest time this season of 10.80 seconds as she narrowly beat the World 200m champion Dafne Schippers 10.83 of Netherlands. Jamaican superstar Veronica Campbell-Brown came in third in 10.91. 

USA's Ameer Webb crushed the men's 200m clocking a new personal best and new world leading 19.85 seconds. 

Jamaica's Omar McLeod posted new WL 13.05 seconds beating his countryman Hansle Parchment 13.10 in the 110m hurdles.  World record holder Aries Merritt, who is recovering after a very serious kidney transplant surgery clocked his season's best 13.37 seconds to take third place. 

In the women's 800m South Africa's Caster Semenya left a strong message to her opponents as she cruised to a very comfortable victory in the women's 800m (1:58.26 WL).

Asbel Kiprop stormed to dominant victory in the men's 1500m (3:32:15 WL) while saluting to the noisy crowd in the last 50m in the race.

Great Britain's Eilidh Doyle ran the fastest time in the world in 2016 of 54.53 in her season opener in 400m hurdles. 

For the full Diamond Lague results see page here.

To see videos visit our video section here.

Latest Videos
» Live Stream Athletics
» Texas Tech Classic, Lubbock, Texas - Live Stream
Thursday, Jan 24th at 19:00 (UTC)
» New Balance Indoor Grand Prix - Live Stream
Saturday, Jan 26th at 20:00 (UTC)
» ISTAF Indoor 2019 (Berlin, GER) - Live Stream
Friday, Feb 1st at 17:00 (UTC)
» Combined Events Tallinn 2019 - Live Stream
Saturday, Feb 2nd at 09:00 (UTC)
» Indoor Meeting - Karlsruhe - Live Stream
Saturday, Feb 2nd at 18:00 (UTC)
» Flash News

The IAAF Doping Review Board has agreed that the applications of 42 Russian athletes have met the exceptional eligibility criteria to compete in international competition as neutral athletes in 2019 under competition Rule 22.1A(b) while the Russian national federation (RusAF) remains suspended.


January 22, 2019 See More on: IAAF.ORG


Ethiopia’s Worknesh Alemu and Kenya’s Cosmas Lagat upset the formbook and produced outstanding performances in hot conditions to triumph at the Tata Mumbai Marathon on Sunday (20), winning at the IAAF Gold Label road race in 2:25:45 and 2:09:15 respectively. Both marks were the second fastest winning times in the history of the event, the pair taking first prize cheques of USD $45,000.

January 20, 2019 See More on: IAAF.ORG

• Stefanidi opens season with huge 4.74m clearance in Reno

Current Olympic, World and European champion Ekaterini Stefanidi of Greece opened her 2019 indoor season with a massive 4.74m clearance at the World's biggest pole vault meet, the UCS Pole Vault Summit, in Reno, Nevada on Friday night. (Women's top 3 Stefanidi 4.74 m; Nageotte 4.74m, and Jacobus 4.66m). (Men top 3: Ludwig 5.71m, Yamamoto 5.71m, and Irwin 5.61m).

January 19, 2019 See More on: IAAF.ORG

• Vivian Cheruiyot and Mary Keitany lead London Marathon women's elite field

The defending champion Vivian Cheruiyot and the current TCS New York City Marathon champion Mary Keitany return to the Virgin Money London Marathon in 2019. They join their compatriots Gladys Cherono (2018 Berlin Marathon champion) and Brigid Kosgei (2018 Chicago Marathon champion) meaning the winners of the last four Abbott World Marathon Majors will be on the Start Line in London on Sunday 28 April.

January 19, 2019 See More on: Londonmarathon

Past Headlines Latest Results Upcoming Events
Watch Athletics
©2019 WATCHATHLETICS.COM. All rights reserved.