• Semenya wins 400m, 800m, 1500m at South African Championships and sets 2 world leads

Article source: Athletics


Former world 800m champion Caster Semenya made some history at South African championships by winning 400m, 800 and 1500m with in 4 hours on Saturday in Stellenbosch on Saturday.

What makes her victories more impressive is that Semenya clocked two world leads in 400m and 800m in a span of 45 minutes and just few hours later she returned later came back to winto claim the  the 1500m title. 

Semenya's first win came in the 400m where she clocked a new personal of 50.74. Just 45 minutes later she posted an impressive time of 1:58.45 to win the 800m before putting an end to these championships with a win over 1500m in 4:10.93. 

In the men's 400m race world champion Wayde van Niekerk clocked a stunning 44.98 for the win. Shaun de Jager was second in 45.90 while Pieter Conradie got bronze in 45.95.

Double victories at these South African championships pulled out distance runner Stephen Mokoka and sprinter Alyssa Conley. Mokoka managed to defend his South African titles as he won  the 5 000m and 10 000m. On Friday he won the 5 000m in 13:40.81 , while on Saturday he took the 10000m title with a time of  27:57.50. Conley on Saturday won the women's 100m final in 11.36 seconds, while today she took down the 200m field in 23.01.

On Friday night Henricho Bruintjies took a surprise win in the men's 100m final over world season leader and SA record holder Akani Simbine. 

There was an outstanding performances from long jumper Rashmed Samaai, who set a world lead of 8.34m to win the SA title.

Victor Hogan threw a new world leading mark of 67.62m to win the men's discus throw contest.

Elleswhere, LJ van Zyl won the 400m hurdles in 49.34, while Wenda Nel prevailed in the women's 400m hurdles with a time of 54.85 seconds.


Women's 400m final

Women's 800m final 

Women's 1500m final

See South African Championships full results here.

Latest Videos
» Live Stream Athletics
Saturday, Mar 30th at 10:00 (UTC)
Saturday, Apr 6th at 08:00 (UTC)
Sunday, Apr 7th at 08:00 (UTC)
Sunday, Apr 7th at 08:00 (UTC)
Sunday, Apr 7th at 08:00 (UTC)
Sunday, Apr 14th at 00:00 (UTC)
» Flash News
• Sondre Moen Wins Gdynia Half Marathon in 1:01:17

Norway's Sondre Moen, the European Marathon record holder (2:05:48), made a return to road racing after recovering from tendon tear in the groin at the Gdynia Half Marathon in Poland. Moen took a very comfortable win in 1:01:17 which is a new course record. Poland's Krystian Zalewski in his debut took second place in 1:02:36.


March 17, 2019 See More on: Twitter

• Kiplagar and Mokonin Take Convincing Victories at Seoul Marathon

Kenyan Thomas Kiplagat Rono of Kenya and Desi Jisa Mokonin of Bahrain took convincing victories at the Seoul Marathon, an IAAF Gold Label road race, on Sunday.  Kiplagat led four men under the 2:07 mark, clocking 2:06:00 to win his third career marathon. Mokonin , who was seventh at the IAAF World Half Marathon Championships Valencia 2018, was even more dominant, winning by 25 seconds in 2:23:45.

March 17, 2019 See More on: IAAF.ORG

• Hughes 10.20, Powell 10.35 at GC Foster Classics

Zharnel Hughes was the men’s 100m dash winner at the GC Foster Classics on Saturday (16 March). Hughes, running against a negative 1.3m/s headwind, stopped the clock in 10.20 seconds. UWI’s Emmanuel Archibald, the heat 10 winner, was second overall.  Asafa Powell won heat 2 in 10.35 (-1.1m/s wind) for 3rd overall.

March 17, 2019 See More on: Track Alerts


Kenyans Erick Kiptanui and Vivian Cheruyiot lead strong fields for the EDP Lisbon Half Marathon, an IAAF Gold Label road race, on Sunday (17). Losing the men's world record to Valencia last year was the impetus for organizers to this year attract a men's field that includes 21 runners with personal bests of under 1:01 and ten in the women's field who have dipped under 1:10.

March 15, 2019 See More on: IAAF.ORG

Past Headlines Latest Results Upcoming Events
Watch Athletics
©2019 WATCHATHLETICS.COM. All rights reserved.