• Men's 1500m in Doha Diamond League will be hot; 5 sub 3:30 runners are set to clash

Article source:

The organizers of this year's Doha Diamond League meet has brought together a stellar field in men's 1500m with five runners who have recorded personal bests below 3:30.


Asbel Kiprop of Kenya,  the the reigning 1500m world champion, produced the 3rd fastest time in history of 3:26.69, while his compatriot the 23-year-old Elijah Motonei Manangoi clocked 3:29.67 in Monaco last year. 

Daegu world championships silver medalist Kenya's  Silas Kiplagat will also lign up in Doha. His personal best he set 2 years ago in 1500m of 3:27.64 sists in #5 position in all time lists.

Doha's men's 1500m line up will also see  Djibouti's 2014 world indoor champion  Ayanleh Suleiman PB of 3:29.58 and Ethiopia's Aman Wote PB 3:29.91 who was second at the 2014 World indoors. 

The Qatar's Athletics chief Dahlan Al Hamad also announced the field in the men's high jump and 400m with local stars  Mutaz Essa Barshim and 19-year-old 400m sensation Abdalelah Haroun will face strong.

Barshim will go against the Beijing world championships winner Derek Drouin of Canada, China's  Zhang Guowei, who was joint second in Beijing and Great Britain's Robbie Grabarz who shared bronze with Mutaz and Drouin in 2012 London Olympics. Also in the men's high jump line up will be former world champion Donald Thomas from Bahamas and Italy’s Marco Fassinotti who took 6th at this year's world indoors. 

 In the men's 400m Haroun will be challenged by the former Olympic and world champion American LaShawn Merritt. Other stars to race the 400m in Doha Isaac Makwala from Botswana (PB 43.72) the 2015  African champion and Asian record holder (43.93) Youssef Ahmed Masrahi from Saudi Arabia. 

Doha Diamond league meet is scheduled for Friday May 6. 

2016 Doha Diamond League Events





3000m Steeplechase 

110m Hurdles 

High Jump 

Triple Jump 

Discus Throw





400m Hurdles

Pole Vault 

Triple Jump

Shot Put 

Javelin Throw 

Latest Videos
» Osaka Marathon 2018 - Live Stream
25 November 2018 at 01:00 (UTC)
» Valencia Marathon 2018 - Live Stream
02 December 2018 at 07:30 (UTC)
Past Headlines Latest Results Upcoming Events
18 Nov Zevenheuvelenloop 2018
18 Nov Semi-Marathon de Boulogne Billancourt
18 Nov Shanghai International Marathon 2018
17 Nov Corrida Bulloise 2018
17 Nov NCAA D1 Cross Country Championships 2018
11 Nov Beirut Marathon 2018
11 Nov Cross de Atapuerca 2018, Burgos (ESP)
11 Nov Istanbul Marathon 2018
11 Nov Athens Marathon The Authentic 2018
04 Nov New York City Marathon 2018
03 Nov Dash to the Finish Line 5K and USATF 5K
28 Oct Venice Marathon 2018
28 Oct Valencia Half Marathon 2018
25 Nov Cross Internacional de la Constitucion,
25 Nov Asics Firenze Marathon, Florence (ITA)
25 Nov Osaka Marathon 2018
02 Dec Marathon du Gabon Olam
02 Dec The 72nd Fukuoka International Marathon
02 Dec 10K Valencia Trinidad Alfonso
02 Dec Valencia Marathon 2018
07 Dec Abu Dhabi Marathon
09 Dec Saitama International Marathon (JPN)
09 Dec Guangzhou Marathon (CHI)
09 Dec Standard Chartered Singapore Marathon
09 Dec European Cross Country Championships,
16 Dec Bangsaen21 Half Marathon
11 Nov Ruth Chepngetich Smashes Istanbul Marathon ...
08 Nov Eliud Kipchoge and Gladys Cherono Best ...
05 Nov Athens Marathon: a Greek Success Story ...
04 Nov Lelisa Desisa Claims New York City ...
04 Nov Mary Keitany wins 4th New York City ...
03 Nov Results: 2018 New York City Marathon ...
03 Nov Live: New York City Marathon 2018 ...
02 Nov Elite Athletes: 2018 TCS New York City ...
28 Oct Kelkile Gezahegn triumphs, Meskerem Assefa ...
28 Oct Top Results Valencia Half Marathon 2018 ...
28 Oct Abraham Kiptum Smashes Half Marathon World ...
27 Oct Results: 2018 Frankfurt Marathon ...
27 Oct Live: Frankfurt Marathon 2018 ...
Watch Athletics
©2018 WATCHATHLETICS.COM. All rights reserved.