• Diamond League introduces new scoring system for 2016 season

Article source:

The organizers of the IAAF Diamond League series have changed the scoring format.


Different from previous years this  when only top three places would score in this year's format top six finishers in each meet will get points. 

1st place: 10 DR points
2nd place: 6 DR points
3rd place: 4 DR points
4th place: 3 DR points
5th place: 2 DR points
6th place: 1 DR point

Points will be doubled at the Diamond League finals, in Zürich and in Brussels. 

Such system by allowing more athletes to engage in the battle for the Diamond Trophy and cash prizes will make the competition more exciting and more competetive. 


2016 Diamond League Schedule

Doha  QAT 06th May 2016
Shanghai  CHN 14th May 2016
Rabat MAR 22nd May 2016
Eugene  USA 28th May 2016
Rome  ITA 02nd June 2016
Birmingham  GBR 05th June 2016
Oslo  NOR 09th June 2016
Stockholm SWE 16th June 2016
Monaco MON 15th July 2016
London (2 Days)    GBR 22nd/23rd July 2016
Lausanne SUI 25th August 2016
Paris  FRA 27th August 2016
Zurich  SUI 01st September 2016
Brussels  BEL 09th September 2016    

Latest Videos
» Live Stream Athletics
» Texas Tech Classic, Lubbock, Texas - Live Stream
Thursday, Jan 24th at 19:00 (UTC)
» New Balance Indoor Grand Prix - Live Stream
Saturday, Jan 26th at 20:00 (UTC)
» ISTAF Indoor 2019 (Berlin, GER) - Live Stream
Friday, Feb 1st at 17:00 (UTC)
» Combined Events Tallinn 2019 - Live Stream
Saturday, Feb 2nd at 09:00 (UTC)
» Indoor Meeting - Karlsruhe - Live Stream
Saturday, Feb 2nd at 18:00 (UTC)
» Flash News

The IAAF Doping Review Board has agreed that the applications of 42 Russian athletes have met the exceptional eligibility criteria to compete in international competition as neutral athletes in 2019 under competition Rule 22.1A(b) while the Russian national federation (RusAF) remains suspended.


January 22, 2019 See More on: IAAF.ORG


Ethiopia’s Worknesh Alemu and Kenya’s Cosmas Lagat upset the formbook and produced outstanding performances in hot conditions to triumph at the Tata Mumbai Marathon on Sunday (20), winning at the IAAF Gold Label road race in 2:25:45 and 2:09:15 respectively. Both marks were the second fastest winning times in the history of the event, the pair taking first prize cheques of USD $45,000.

January 20, 2019 See More on: IAAF.ORG

• Stefanidi opens season with huge 4.74m clearance in Reno

Current Olympic, World and European champion Ekaterini Stefanidi of Greece opened her 2019 indoor season with a massive 4.74m clearance at the World's biggest pole vault meet, the UCS Pole Vault Summit, in Reno, Nevada on Friday night. (Women's top 3 Stefanidi 4.74 m; Nageotte 4.74m, and Jacobus 4.66m). (Men top 3: Ludwig 5.71m, Yamamoto 5.71m, and Irwin 5.61m).

January 19, 2019 See More on: IAAF.ORG

• Vivian Cheruiyot and Mary Keitany lead London Marathon women's elite field

The defending champion Vivian Cheruiyot and the current TCS New York City Marathon champion Mary Keitany return to the Virgin Money London Marathon in 2019. They join their compatriots Gladys Cherono (2018 Berlin Marathon champion) and Brigid Kosgei (2018 Chicago Marathon champion) meaning the winners of the last four Abbott World Marathon Majors will be on the Start Line in London on Sunday 28 April.

January 19, 2019 See More on: Londonmarathon

Past Headlines Latest Results Upcoming Events
Watch Athletics
©2019 WATCHATHLETICS.COM. All rights reserved.