• Lilesa and Kiprop take Tokyo titles

Article source: Athletics

Ethiopia's Feyisa Lilesa passed by race favorite Kenya's Dickson Chumba to win the Tokyo Marathon on Sunday and to claim his first victory at the Abbott World Marathon Majors. Kenya's Helah Kiprop won the women's race in a new course record time of 2:21:27.


Pre race favourite the Chicago marathon winner Dickson Chumba and Ethiopia's Lilesa pushed away from the pack about 10km left in the race. The pace Chumba set was far too fast as it left the Kenyan basicly dead. About 1.8km to go Felisa stormed passed Chumba and went to win the race in 2:06:56. The trouble for Chumba was not over yet as Bernard Kipyego managed catch and Chumba only 30m before the finish line. To win the 2015-2016 AWMM and a prize of USD 500.000 Chumba needed to win this race. However now the winner of AWMM is now London and Berlin champion Eliud Kipchoge who tops the standings. 

Kenyan Helah Kiprop crossed line in the women's race in a new course record time of 2:21:27 ahead of Ethiopia's Amane Gobena Ethiopia 2:21:51 , the defending Tokyo champion. Kiprop shaved of 2:36min from her previous personal best and almost a minute from Tirfi Tsegayes old course record of 2:22:23. The podium concluded well experienced Edna Kiplagat of Kenya, who crossed the finish line in 2:22:36.  Kiprop is now tied with world champion Mare Dibaba of Ethiopia and New York champ Mary Keitany in the women's standings at the AWMM standings.


1. Feyisa Lilesa (Ethiopia) 2:06:56 
2. Bernard Kipyego (Kenya) 2:07:33 
3. Dickson Chumba (Kenya) 2:07:34 
4. Stephen Kiprotich (Kenya) 2:07:46 
5. Abel Kirui (Kenya) 2:08:06 
6. Eliud Kiptanui (Kenya) 2:08:55 
7. Emmanuel Kipchirchir Mutai (Kenya) 2:10:23 
8. Yuki Takamiya (Japan) 2:10:57 
9. Javier Guerra (Spain) 2:11:01 
10. Yuta Shimoda (Japan) 2:11:34


1. Helah Kiprop (Kenya) 2:21:27 
2. Amane Gobena (Ethiopia) 2:21:51 
3. Edna Kiplagat (Kenya) 2:22:36 
4. Aberu Kebede (Ethiopia) 2:23:01 
5. Berhane Dibaba (Ethiopia) 2:23:16 
6. Shure Demise Ware (Ethiopia) 2:25:04 
7. Ashete Dido Bekele (Ethiopia) 2:25:50 
8. Maja Neuenschwander (Switzerland) 2:27:36 
9. Isabellah Andersson (Sweden) 2:30:02 
10. Yukiko Okuno (Japan) 2:31:17

Latest Videos
» Live Stream Athletics
» Texas Tech Classic, Lubbock, Texas - Live Stream
Thursday, Jan 24th at 19:00 (UTC)
» New Balance Indoor Grand Prix - Live Stream
Saturday, Jan 26th at 20:00 (UTC)
» ISTAF Indoor 2019 (Berlin, GER) - Live Stream
Friday, Feb 1st at 17:00 (UTC)
» Combined Events Tallinn 2019 - Live Stream
Saturday, Feb 2nd at 09:00 (UTC)
» Indoor Meeting - Karlsruhe - Live Stream
Saturday, Feb 2nd at 18:00 (UTC)
» Flash News

The IAAF Doping Review Board has agreed that the applications of 42 Russian athletes have met the exceptional eligibility criteria to compete in international competition as neutral athletes in 2019 under competition Rule 22.1A(b) while the Russian national federation (RusAF) remains suspended.


January 22, 2019 See More on: IAAF.ORG


Ethiopia’s Worknesh Alemu and Kenya’s Cosmas Lagat upset the formbook and produced outstanding performances in hot conditions to triumph at the Tata Mumbai Marathon on Sunday (20), winning at the IAAF Gold Label road race in 2:25:45 and 2:09:15 respectively. Both marks were the second fastest winning times in the history of the event, the pair taking first prize cheques of USD $45,000.

January 20, 2019 See More on: IAAF.ORG

• Stefanidi opens season with huge 4.74m clearance in Reno

Current Olympic, World and European champion Ekaterini Stefanidi of Greece opened her 2019 indoor season with a massive 4.74m clearance at the World's biggest pole vault meet, the UCS Pole Vault Summit, in Reno, Nevada on Friday night. (Women's top 3 Stefanidi 4.74 m; Nageotte 4.74m, and Jacobus 4.66m). (Men top 3: Ludwig 5.71m, Yamamoto 5.71m, and Irwin 5.61m).

January 19, 2019 See More on: IAAF.ORG

• Vivian Cheruiyot and Mary Keitany lead London Marathon women's elite field

The defending champion Vivian Cheruiyot and the current TCS New York City Marathon champion Mary Keitany return to the Virgin Money London Marathon in 2019. They join their compatriots Gladys Cherono (2018 Berlin Marathon champion) and Brigid Kosgei (2018 Chicago Marathon champion) meaning the winners of the last four Abbott World Marathon Majors will be on the Start Line in London on Sunday 28 April.

January 19, 2019 See More on: Londonmarathon

Past Headlines Latest Results Upcoming Events
Watch Athletics
©2019 WATCHATHLETICS.COM. All rights reserved.