• Hassan and Kaya win European XC Titles

Article source: Athletics

 Netherland's Sifan Hassan and Turkey's Ali Kaya won the 2015 European Cross Country championships senior crowns on Sunday,  December 13 in Hyeres, France.


Hassan the world 1500m silver medalist  outran Great Britain's Kate Avery and Karoline Bjerkeli Grovdal of Norway to win her first European senior cross country title with a time of 25.47. The 22-year old Hassan besides European cross country title hold the European 1500m title indoors and outdoors. 

Great Britain defended their team title with 33 points from France (78) and Ireland (83).

Turkey's Ali Kaya took the men's 10.1 km senior race upgrading his last year's silver medal to gold. Kaya crossed the line with a time of 29.20  beating 2009 and 2013 European cross  country champion Alemayehu Bezabeh of Spain who crossed the line second in 29.31. Bronze medal won Spaniard  Adel Mechaal with a time of 29.51. 


Spain took the team title with just 14 points. France was second with 35 whole Great Britain with 78 points took bronze.


Junior Women

Junior Men

U23 Women

U23 Men

Senior Women


Latest Videos
» Live Stream Athletics
» Texas Tech Classic, Lubbock, Texas - Live Stream
Thursday, Jan 24th at 19:00 (UTC)
» New Balance Indoor Grand Prix - Live Stream
Saturday, Jan 26th at 20:00 (UTC)
» ISTAF Indoor 2019 (Berlin, GER) - Live Stream
Friday, Feb 1st at 17:00 (UTC)
» Combined Events Tallinn 2019 - Live Stream
Saturday, Feb 2nd at 09:00 (UTC)
» Indoor Meeting - Karlsruhe - Live Stream
Saturday, Feb 2nd at 18:00 (UTC)
» Flash News

The IAAF Doping Review Board has agreed that the applications of 42 Russian athletes have met the exceptional eligibility criteria to compete in international competition as neutral athletes in 2019 under competition Rule 22.1A(b) while the Russian national federation (RusAF) remains suspended.


January 22, 2019 See More on: IAAF.ORG


Ethiopia’s Worknesh Alemu and Kenya’s Cosmas Lagat upset the formbook and produced outstanding performances in hot conditions to triumph at the Tata Mumbai Marathon on Sunday (20), winning at the IAAF Gold Label road race in 2:25:45 and 2:09:15 respectively. Both marks were the second fastest winning times in the history of the event, the pair taking first prize cheques of USD $45,000.

January 20, 2019 See More on: IAAF.ORG

• Stefanidi opens season with huge 4.74m clearance in Reno

Current Olympic, World and European champion Ekaterini Stefanidi of Greece opened her 2019 indoor season with a massive 4.74m clearance at the World's biggest pole vault meet, the UCS Pole Vault Summit, in Reno, Nevada on Friday night. (Women's top 3 Stefanidi 4.74 m; Nageotte 4.74m, and Jacobus 4.66m). (Men top 3: Ludwig 5.71m, Yamamoto 5.71m, and Irwin 5.61m).

January 19, 2019 See More on: IAAF.ORG

• Vivian Cheruiyot and Mary Keitany lead London Marathon women's elite field

The defending champion Vivian Cheruiyot and the current TCS New York City Marathon champion Mary Keitany return to the Virgin Money London Marathon in 2019. They join their compatriots Gladys Cherono (2018 Berlin Marathon champion) and Brigid Kosgei (2018 Chicago Marathon champion) meaning the winners of the last four Abbott World Marathon Majors will be on the Start Line in London on Sunday 28 April.

January 19, 2019 See More on: Londonmarathon

Past Headlines Latest Results Upcoming Events
Watch Athletics
©2019 WATCHATHLETICS.COM. All rights reserved.