Five Former Champions Added to Boston Marathon Field

Posted by:

Five previous years winners will return to run to run this year's Boston Marathon on April 20,  the main Boston marathon sponsor John Hancock Financial announced on Tuesday.

American marathon star, Meb Keflezighi, who became the first USA runner to win the Boston marathon since 1983 will be challenged by 2013 winner Lelisa Desisa of Ethiopia and 2012 winner Wesley Korir of Kenya.

 Also in the race were included Wilson Chebet and Frankline Chepkwony, who finished second and third in the last year's race.

Kenya's 2012 winner Sharon Cherop and 2011 Boston champion Caroline Kilel will lead talent stacked women's field.

Leading american runners are Shalane Flanagan, Desiree Davila Linden and Amy Hastings. There are total of 10 women's marathoners who have personal best times under 2:23.



Latest News
©2024 WATCHATHLETICS.COM. All rights reserved.