Elite Athletes Gear Up for Record-Breaking Attempts at the Shanghai Marathon

Posted by: Watch Athletics

The Shanghai Marathon, a prestigious World Athletics Platinum Label road race, is set to witness potential record-breaking performances this Sunday. The men's race features 12 athletes with personal best times under the existing course record of 2:07:14, set by Kenya's Paul Lonyangata in 2015. Ethiopia's Kinde Atanaw, boasting a personal best of 2:03:51 from Valencia, is the fastest in the lineup. Elisha Rotich from Kenya, with a personal best of 2:04:21, and Ethiopia's Abayneh Degu, holding a time of 2:04:53, are also major contenders.

Tadu Abate of Ethiopia and Kenya's Enock Onchari, both with personal bests under 2:06, are in excellent form. The field also includes Nicholas Kirwa, Moses Kibet, and Eric Kiptanui from Kenya, each with personal bests below 2:06. China's top local athlete, Jia Erenjia, winner of the 2020 Shanghai Marathon and third-place finisher last year, is also competing.

In the women's race, five athletes with times under 2:21 are vying for the course record of 2:20:36, set by Ethiopian Yebrgual Melese in 2018. Tadu Teshome of Ethiopia, with a personal best of 2:17:36, is the top contender. She faces strong competition from Bahrain’s Eunice Chumba and Kenya’s Selly Chepyego, both experienced marathoners with personal bests around 2:20.

Other title hopefuls include Etagegne Woldu of Ethiopia and Nazret Weldu of Eritrea. Defending champion Zhang Deshun of China, who improved her personal best to 2:24:05 earlier this year, is also participating. This marathon promises to be a thrilling event with high-caliber athletes aiming for record-breaking performances.

Men Elite Field

Kinde Atanaw (ETH) 2:03:51
Elisha Rotich (KEN) 2:04:21
Abayneh Degu (ETH) 2:04:53
Nicholas Kirwa (KEN) 2:05:01
Moses Kibet (KEN) 2:05:20
Tadu Abate (ETH) 2:05:38
Eric Kiptanui (KEN) 2:05:47
Enock Onchari (KEN) 2:05:47
Kenneth Keter (KEN) 2:06:05
Alphonce Simbu (TAN) 2:06:19
Solomon Kirwa Yego (KEN) 2:06:24
Victor Kipchirchir (KEN) 2:06:54
Philimon Kiptoo Kipchumba (KEN) 2:07:28
Moses Kemei (KEN) 2:09:26
Jia Erenjia (CHN) 2:09:54
Wu Xiangdong (CHN) 2:10:02
Su Guoxiong (CHN) 2:11:28
Sammy Kosgei (KEN) 2:11:54
Nianzhe Ati (CHN) 2:13:14
Guan Yousheng (CHN) 2:13:25
Yang Dinghong (CHN) 2:13:40
Yang Xiaohua (CHN) 2:13:54
Guan Siyang (CHN) 2:13:56
Boki Diriba (ETH) debut
Cameron Avery (NZL) debut

Women Elite Field

Tadu Teshome (ETH) 2:17:36
Eunice Chumba (BRN) 2:20:02
Selly Chepyego (KEN) 2:20:03
Etagegne Woldu (ETH) 2:20:03
Nazret Weldu (ERI) 2:20:29
Siranesh Yirga (ETH) 2:21:08
Betty Chepkwony (KEN) 2:23:02
Zhang Deshun (CHN) 2:24:05
Emily Arusio (KEN) 2:25:22
Bai Li (CHN) 2:26:33
Ding Changqin (CHN) 2:26:54
Zhang Xinyan (CHN) 2:26:56
Chernet Misganaw (ETH) 2:27:17
Jackline Sakilu (TAN) 2:37:55
Sandrafelis Chebet Tuei (KEN) debut 

Latest News
©2024 WATCHATHLETICS.COM. All rights reserved.