Marathon and Half Marathon World Record Holders to Clash in Delhi

Posted by: Watch Athletics

Women's marathon and half marathon world record holders Brigid Kosgei of Kenya and Ababel Yeshaneh of Ethiopia will clash at the 2020 Airtel Delhi Half Marathon on Sunday,  29 November.

Kosgei and Yeshaneh will face arguably the strongest women's field ever with 8 women having run inside 67:00 minutes. 

Last year in October at the Chicago Marathon Kosgei clocked a stunning women's marathon World record of 2:14:04, smashing Paula Radcliffe's long-standing women’s world marathon record (2:15:25) by more than a minute. In that race, Yeshaneh took second place in a massive personal best time of 2:20:51

However, at the 2020 Ras Al Khaimah Half Marathon in February, Yeshaneh defeated Kosgei in a world record time of 1:04:31. Kosgei was seconded with the second-fastest performance of all time of 1:04:49.

Both the men's and women's races have a first prize cheques of US$27,000 with a total prize money purse (combined men and women) of US$233.270.

Because of the restrictions of the coronavirus pandemic, the 2020 edition will be elite runners only while the mass participation is canceled. Approximately 60 elite international and Indian runners will be in action on the Delhi roads, with the traditional start and finish in the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, the event being held in a bio-secure bubble.

Non-elite runners of all abilities will have the chance to participate virtually from any location, running at any time between 25-29 November via the ADHM App. Details of how to download and use this app can found on the ADHM 2020 website

Watch Dehli Half Marathon live stream here.

Elite Men

Abraham Cheroben (BRN) 58:40
Guye Adola (ETH) 59:06
Amdework Walelegn (ETH) 59:08
Leonard Barsoton (KEN) 59:09
Andamlak Belihu (ETH) 59:10
Solomon Berihu (ETH) 59:17
Josphat Boit (KEN) 59:19
Edwin Kiptoo (KEN) 59:26
Stephen Mokoka (RSA) 59:36
Abrar Osman (ERI) 59:47
Aron Kifle (ERI) 59:51
Dawit Wolde (ETH) 59:58
Muktar Edris (ETH) debut

Elite Women

Ababel Yeshaneh (ETH) 1:04:31
Brigid Kosgei (KEN) 1:04:49
Yalemzerf Yehualaw (ETH) 1:05:19
Ruth Chepngetich (KEN) 1:05:30
Netsanet Gudeta (ETH) 1:05:45
Tsehay Gemechu (ETH) 1:06:00
Evaline Chirchir (KEN) 1:06:01
Brillian Kipkoech (KEN) 1:06:56
Irene Cheptai (KEN) 1:07:39
Mimi Belete (BRN) 1:08:16
Failuna Matanga (TAN) 1:09:36
Nazret Weldu (ERI) 1:10:51
Tsigie Gebreselama (ETH) debut
Hawi Feysa (ETH) debut
Eva Cherono (KEN) debut

Latest News
©2024 WATCHATHLETICS.COM. All rights reserved.