Kamworor holds of Kipsang for NYC Marathon Title

Posted by: Watch Athletics

Geoffrey Kamworor of Kenya became the 2017 TCS New York City marathon champion on Sunday, November 5.

The 2-time world half marathon and cross country champion, Kamworor, defeated former world marathon record holder, Wilson Kipsang,  by only 3 seconds to win the New York City Marathon in 2:10:53.

The third place in the men´s marathon took Lelisa Desisa of Ethiopia with a time of 2:11:32.

The top American finisher was the 40-year-old Abdi Abdirahman who finished in 7th place in 2:12:48. 

“What was in my mind was that I was a champion and I had to have enough belief in my sprint,” said Kamworor. “I knew I had made a decisive move but when I looked I saw Kipsang and I had to lift myself.” Kamworor said.

Top 10 Men

1    Geoffrey Kamworor    2:10:53    KEN
2    Wilson Kipsang        2:10:56    KEN
3    Lelisa Desisa        2:11:32    ETH
4    Lemi Berhanu        2:11:52    ETH
5    Tadesse Abraham        2:12:01    SUI
6    Michel Butter        2:12:39    NED
7    Abdi Abdirahman        2:12:48    USA
8    Koen Naert        2:13:21    BEL
9    Fikadu Girma Teferi    2:13:58    ETH
10    Shadrack Biwott        2:14:57    USA



Shalane Flanagan wins NYC marathon.

Latest News
©2024 WATCHATHLETICS.COM. All rights reserved.