IAAF Announces Athlete of the Year Award Nominees

Posted by: Watch Athletics

The track and field governing body, IAAF, announced on Tuesday ten men and ten women Nominees for the 2017 athlete of the year award.

Fans can vote on IAAF  Facebook and Twitter pages later this week for their favorite athlete ; a 'like' or 'favourite' will count as one vote.

The IAAF Council’s vote will count for 50% of the result, while the IAAF Family’s votes and the public votes will each count for 25% of the final result.

Voting closes on October 16. Top three men and women will go to the final. 

The male and female IAAF World Athletes of the Year will be announced live on stage at the IAAF Athletics Awards 2017 in November.

Men Nominees
Mutaz Essa Barshim (QAT)
Pawel Fajdek (POL)
Mohamed Farah (GBR)
Sam Kendricks (USA)
Elijah Manangoi (KEN)
Luvo Manyonga RSA)
Omar McLeod (JAM)
Christian Taylor (USA)
Wayde van Niekerk (RSA)
Johannes Vetter (GER)
Women Nominees
Almaz Ayana (ETH)
Maria Lasitskene (ANA)
Hellen Obiri (KEN)
Sally Pearson (AUS)
Sandra Perkovic (CRO)
Brittney Reese (USA)
Caster Semenya (RSA)
Ekaterini Stefanidi (GRE)
Nafissatou Thiam (BEL)
Anita Wlodarczyk (POL) 

Fans can vote here on  Facebook and Twitter.

Latest News
©2024 WATCHATHLETICS.COM. All rights reserved.