• Innsbruck Golden Roof Challenge is Friday

Article source:

The world's top pole vault and long jump athletes at the Golden Roof Challenge in Innsbruck (AUT) at the Golden Fly Series 2017.

On the evening of Friday, 2 June 2017 the heart of Innsbruck's old town will once again provide the backdrop to a modern athletic spectacle of a special kind. The world's top pole vault and long jump athletes will compete in crossfire sequence within breath-taking proximity to the audience, hoping to qualify for the IAAF World Championships in Athletics and a place in the world's top rankings.

The specially designed "FlySwat", which is in fact the world's largest mobile athletic facility, offers an incomparable event atmosphere and brings spectators face to face with the world's elite athletes! This annual meet has become a highlight among athletic events and is known world-wide due to its successful broadcast and live-stream. 

Pole Vault:

To provide exciting high-class competitions, the organizers only invite world-class athletes to the event. This year’s edition of the Golden Roof Challenge in Innsbruck the audience will see Piotr Lisek (POL), number one in the world rankings and European champion indoor 2017. Besides the number 12 in the world rankings indoor 2017 Ivan Horvath (CRO) there will also be the juniors European champion 2015 Adam Hague (GBR) competing for the win in the middle of this beautiful city. In the female section the current number 6 in the world rankings indoor Wilma Murto (FIN) challenges also some of the world’s elite in Pole Vault including Morgan Leleux (USA), number 2 in the world rankings. 


There’s a high-carat field in long-jump, too: famous world record holder Paralympics and multiple Paralympic Champion Markus Rehm (GER) competes with European Indoor Champion 2015 Michael Torneus (SWE) and European Indoor Champion 2017 Izmir Smajlaj (ALB). At the women’s, Sarah Lagger (AUT), World Champion U19 Heptathlon 2016, Darya Klishina (RUS), European Indoor Champion 2011, 2013 and also Heido Alexouli (GRE) fight for the win in the Long-Jump discipline in front of such spectacular scenery. 

Live Stream: The event will be streamed live via Watch Athletics starting at 6:45pm Central European Time.  See live stream here.

Event Info: For more details visit the organizers website here.

Latest Videos
» Live Stream Athletics
Saturday, Mar 30th at 10:00 (UTC)
Saturday, Apr 6th at 08:00 (UTC)
Sunday, Apr 7th at 08:00 (UTC)
Sunday, Apr 7th at 08:00 (UTC)
Sunday, Apr 7th at 08:00 (UTC)
Sunday, Apr 14th at 00:00 (UTC)
» Flash News
• What are the benefits from the new IAAF qualifying system?

IAAF last week established a new system qualifying system for the 2020 Tokyo Olympics with the ridiculously high standards and ranking system that will be used to select athletes for the next Olympic and possibly next World championships. What are the positives and which countries will benefit the most from the new IAAF qualification system?

March 19, 2019 See More on: Watch Athletics Forum

• Sondre Moen Wins Gdynia Half Marathon in 1:01:17

Norway's Sondre Moen, the European Marathon record holder (2:05:48), made a return to road racing after recovering from tendon tear in the groin at the Gdynia Half Marathon in Poland. Moen took a very comfortable win in 1:01:17 which is a new course record. Poland's Krystian Zalewski in his debut took second place in 1:02:36.


March 17, 2019 See More on: Twitter

• Kiplagar and Mokonin Take Convincing Victories at Seoul Marathon

Kenyan Thomas Kiplagat Rono of Kenya and Desi Jisa Mokonin of Bahrain took convincing victories at the Seoul Marathon, an IAAF Gold Label road race, on Sunday.  Kiplagat led four men under the 2:07 mark, clocking 2:06:00 to win his third career marathon. Mokonin , who was seventh at the IAAF World Half Marathon Championships Valencia 2018, was even more dominant, winning by 25 seconds in 2:23:45.

March 17, 2019 See More on: IAAF.ORG

• Hughes 10.20, Powell 10.35 at GC Foster Classics

Zharnel Hughes was the men’s 100m dash winner at the GC Foster Classics on Saturday (16 March). Hughes, running against a negative 1.3m/s headwind, stopped the clock in 10.20 seconds. UWI’s Emmanuel Archibald, the heat 10 winner, was second overall.  Asafa Powell won heat 2 in 10.35 (-1.1m/s wind) for 3rd overall.

March 17, 2019 See More on: Track Alerts

Past Headlines Latest Results Upcoming Events
Watch Athletics
©2019 WATCHATHLETICS.COM. All rights reserved.