• Abera wins 2016 Dubai Marathon

Article source: Athletics

A little known marathon runner Tesfaye Abera of Ethiopia collected a prize money of USD 200,000 as he won the 2016 Dubai Marathon on Friday, January 22. 

The 23-year-old Abera outkicked defending champion Hayle Lemi Berhanu to cross the line first with a sensational new personal best time of 2:04:24.

Abera's winning time was just one second slower than the current course record, but more than 5 faster than his previous personal best time of 2:09:46.

Last years winner Berhanu Hayle finished second in 2:04:33 while Tsegaye Mekonen took third in 2:04:46. Like the its beens the case in the past  Ethiopians dominated the Dubai marathon as they occupied first 6 places. 

Top 10 results

1 Abera Dibaba, Tesfaye (ETH) 2:04:24
2 Berhanu Hayle, Lemi (ETH) 2:04:33
3 Mekonnen Asefa, Tsegaye (ETH) 2:04:46 
4 Lemma Kasaye, Sisay (ETH) 2:05:16
5 Wasihun Lakew, Mula (ETH) 2:05:44
6 Ayele Woldegiorgis, Abayneh (ETH) 2:06:45
7 Kiplimo Kosgei, Samuel (KEN) 2:06:53
8 Regassa Dabe, Tilahun (ETH) 2:08:11
9 Kiplagat Rono, Thomas (KEN) 2:08:34
10 Teshome Bekele, Mesfin (ETH) 2:09:24

Latest Videos
» Karlstad Grand Prix (SWE) - Live Stream
25 July 2018 at 00:00 (UTC)

Flash News

Watch Athletics
©2018 WATCHATHLETICS.COM. All rights reserved.