• Lelisa Desisa wins Dubai Marathon

Article source: Athletics

They were Ethiopian runners that claimed all the titles in both the men’s and women’s races at the 2013 Dubai Marathon – an IAAF Gold Label Road Race. In a very foggy weather with the temperatures near 15C, Dubai Marathon saw 5 men breaking 2.05 mark, no marathon in the history has seen anything like this.

Ethiopian marathon debutant Lelisa Desisa, 23, outsprinted his opponents in the last 300 metres to the race in 2:04:45.  

 Berhanu Shiferaw (ETH) who was leading most of the race came in second with 2:04:48. Shiferaw bettered hi PR by 4 minutes. Desisas another compatriot, Tadesse Tola, clocking a personal best of 2:04:49 concluded the mens podium. Another Ethiopian Endeshaw Negesse, finnished in fourth with 2:04:52 while Kenyan debutant Bernard Koech finished fifth clocking 2:04:53. 

“I tried to push the pace at 38km,” said Desisa, “but the others responded strongly so I decided to wait until the end. I have a good sprint and I was confident that it would win me the race. I had aimed for 2:06 for my debut, but when I saw the time at the finish I was shocked. If I can find a similarly good course, and my coach agrees, maybe next time I can go for the world record.”

In the womens race Ethiopians were even more dominant by capturing first six place in the race.Tirfi Tsegaye was the winner by running 2:23:23, second place took Ehitu Kiros (2:23:39). Amane Gobena came in third clocking 2:23:50. 

After 30km mark, Tirfi Tsegaye took the leade in race and never looked back. “I came with two aims,” said Tsegaye, “to win, and to run under 2:20. I was determined to push in the second half of the race, but by that time, it had become very humid, and it was affecting me. So I’m happy to win, but unhappy I didn’t break 2:20. I’ll have to come back next year, and try again.”

Top 10 Results


1 Lelisa Desisa (ETH) 2:04:45 

2 Berhanu Shiferaw (ETH) 2:04:48 

3 Tadese Tola (ETH) 2:04:49 

4 Endeshaw Negesse (ETH) 2:04:52 

5 Bernard Koech (KEN) 2:04:53 

6 Nicholas Kipkemboi (KEN) 2:06:33 

7 Dadi Yami (ETH) 2:07:55 

8 Mike Kigen (KEN) 2:08:24 

9 Habtamu Assefa (ETH) 2:08:28 

10 Gemechu Biru (ETH) 2:08:53          



1 Tirfi Tsgaye (ETH) 2:23:23         

2 Ehitu Kiros (ETH) 2:23:39       

3 Amane Gobena (ETH) 2:23:50      

4 Aheza Kiros (ETH) 2:24:30       

5 Belaynesh Oljira (ETH) 2:25:01       

6 Shitaye Bedasa (ETH) 2:25:47      

7 Isabellah Andersson (SWE) 2:26:05       

8 Abebech Afework (ETH) 2:27:08       

9 Beata Naigambo (NAM) 2:27:54

10 Misaki Katsumata (JPN) 2:30:42              

Latest Videos
» Copenhagen Athletics Games - Live Stream
26 June 2018 at 16:00 (UTC)

Flash News

Watch Athletics
©2018 WATCHATHLETICS.COM. All rights reserved.